4 Connacht players in Ireland Womens XV for Italian Six Nations clash

20 February 2019

4 Connacht players in Ireland Womens XV for Italian Six Nations clash
The Ireland Womens team to face Italy in the third round of the Womens Six Nations tournament has been named.
Head Coach, Adam Griggs has made just one change to the opening team that overcame Scotland 5 – 22 in their last outing a fortnight ago in Glasgow. Kathryn Dane, who made her debut off the bench against England, makes her first start of the tournament coming in at scrum half.
Heading into the mid tournament test, Griggs said:
“It was great to come away with five points after the Scotland test. It was a physical game in tough conditions, but the players were focused on putting in a good team performance together and showing the quality rugby they can produce.
We were pleased with the opportunities that we created and while the challenge for this group is to become even more clinical under pressure, we definitely feel each week we are improving and taking the right steps to get there.
The Italian game should be a cracker, they have played well of late and are unbeaten so far in this championship which isn’t easy to do.
We have been preparing diligently and know they have quality footballers that will put you under real pressure, we will need to be aware of these and look to close them down early if we are to get any success this Saturday night.”

The match will be broadcast live by RTE, with coverage beginning at 6.30pm
Ireland Women’s Team v Italy Women, (Women’s Six Nations, Viale Piacenza (Lanfranchi), Parma, Saturday 23rd February 2019, Kick-off 18.45 GMT/ 19.45 Local Time)
15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby)
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
13. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/ Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/ Connacht)
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/ Connacht)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
1. Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht)
2. Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College/ Leinster)
3. Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)
5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/ Connacht)
6. Anna Caplice (Richmond)
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/ Munster) Capt
16. Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
17. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
19. Claire Boles (Railway Union)
20. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
21. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
23. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
Ireland Women’s Six Nations Fixtures and Results 2019
Friday 1 February
Ireland Women 7 v 51 England Women, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin
Friday 8 February
Scotland Women 5 v 22 Ireland Women, Scotstoun, Glasgow
Saturday 23 February
Italy Women v Ireland Women, Viale Piacenza (Lanfranchi), Parma, 18.45 GMT/ 19.45 Local Time
Saturday 9 March
Ireland Women v France Women, Energia Stadium, Dublin, 19.00hrs – BUY TICKETS
Sunday 17 March
Wales Women v Ireland Women, Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff 13.30hrs