5 Connacht players named in Irish U18s Club and Schools team

01 April 2023

5 Connacht players named in Irish U18s Club and Schools team

The Ireland Under-18 Men’s Clubs & Schools team (sponsored by PwC) has been named to play Italy Under-18s this Sunday at Ashbourne RFC (kick-off 2pm).

5 players from Connacht named in the 23, Cian Brady, Orin Burke, Ambrose Bamber, Arann Platt and Gerard Murtagh.

Head coach Fiach O’Loughlin (Munster Rugby) will be hoping for a repeat of November’s performance which saw his team emerge as comfortable 43-10 winners in the game that was played in Rome.

There are only six players remaining in the squad from the side that travelled to Rome last autumn – Cian Brady, Connor Fahy, Eoghan Smyth, Henry Walker, Ambrose Bamber and Arann Pratt.

Bamber, Fahy and Pratt were all try scorers that day. Presentation College Bray second row Billy Corrigan will captain Ireland in Ashbourne, with Good Counsel College and Wexford Wanderers centre Fahy named as vice-captain.

IRELAND UNDER-18 MEN’S CLUBS & SCHOOLS Team & Replacements (v Italy Under-18s, Under-18 International Match, Ashbourne RFC, Sunday, April 2, kick-off 2pm):

15. Cian Brady (Coláiste an Eachréidh/Monivea RFC/Connacht)
14. Orin Burke (Presentation College Athenry/Monivea RFC/Connacht)
13. Connor Fahy (Good Counsel College/Wexford Wanderers RFC/Leinster) (vice-capt)
12. Eoghan Smyth (Midleton College/Midleton RFC/Munster)
11. Matthew Te Pou (St. Munchin’s College/Munster)
10. Harry McKeown (Sullivan Upper School/Ulster)
9. Marcus Lyons (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)
1. Alex Usanov (Belvedere College/Leinster)
2. Henry Walker (Hartpury College/Saracens RFC/IQ Rugby)
3. Adam Watchorn (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
4. Billy Corrigan (Presentation College Bray/Leinster) (capt)
5. David Walsh (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
6. Jack Ryan (Rockwell College/Munster)
7. Sam Corrigan (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
8. Ambrose Bamber (Sligo Grammar School/Sligo RFC/Connacht)


16. Fionn Casserly (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)
17. Arann Platt (Sligo Grammar School/Sligo RFC/Connacht)
18. Tom McAllister (Ballyclare High School/Ulster)
19. Tommy Butler (Blackrock College/Leinster)
20. Ruairi Munnelly (Newbridge College/Leinster)
21. David Armstrong (Methodist College/Ulster)
22. Sam Wisniewski (St. Vincent’s Castleknock College/Leinster)
23. Gerard Murtagh (Sligo Grammar School/Connacht)