6 Connacht players selected for development week in Wales

26 July 2023

6 Connacht players selected for development week in Wales

A 29-man U18 squad has been selected to travel to Wales for a weeklong development camp with their Welsh, Scottish and Italian counterparts in August.

The squads will train together at Cardiff University over the week with a final day consisting of three thirty minutes matches against each of the other teams. The squad will be coached by Development Coaches Jamie Kirk, Johne Murphy, and Sebastian Delport.

Along with Sebastian from Connacht Rugby in the backroom staff is Alan Doonan.

Two National Talent Squad players are included – Diarmaid O’Connell of Sligo and Tom Wood, son of former Ireland hooker and captain Keith. There’s another famous surname in the squad as Calum Elwood, son of Connacht and Ireland legend Eric, is included.

The other Connacht players called up are Jack Pollard, Oisin McNicholas, Rory Lyons and Tom Sheehan.

The squad will travel to Wales on August 5th.

Ireland u18 Men’s Development Squad 2023

Bill Hayes (CC Roscrea/Munster Rugby)
Blake McClean (RBAI/Ulster Rugby)
Cal Traynor Russell (CBC Monkstown/Leinster Rugby)
Calum Elwood (Colaiste Iognaid/Galwegians RFC/Connacht Rugby)
Christian Foley (Abbeyfeale RFC/Munster Rugby)
Conall Cournane (Iveragh Eagles RFC/Munster Rugby)
Conor Magee (Banbridge Academy/Ulster Rugby)
Daire O’Callaghan (CBC Cork/Munster Rugby)
Daniel Green (St. Ambrose College/Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
Daniel Ring (St. Kieran’s College/Kilkenny RFC/Leinster Rugby)
Diarmaid O’Connell (Sligo Grammar/Sligo RFC/Connacht Rugby)*
Fionn O’Meara (St. Josephs CBS Nenagh/Nenagh Ormand RFC/Munster Rugby)
Fraser Cunningham (RBAI/Ulster Rugby)
Jack Pollard (Blackrock College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht Rugby)
James O’Leary (PBC, Cork/Munster Rugby)
Jamie Conway (Castletroy College/Munster Rugby)
Joshua Ohagwa (Navan RFC/Leinster Rugby)
JP Breslin (Gonzaga College/Leinster Rugby)
Luke Murtagh (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster Rugby)
Oisin McNicholas (St Louis Community School/Ballina RFC/Connacht Rugby)
Piers Fortey (Gloucester Rugby/IQ Rugby)
Quinn Armstrong (Wallace High School/Ulster Rugby)
Rory Lyons (Sancta Maria College/Westport RFC/Connacht Rugby)
Ryan Halpin (Down High School/Ulster Rugby)
Thomas Dougan (The Royal School Armagh/Ulster Rugby)
Tom Sheehan (Marist College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht Rugby)
Tom Wood (St. Munchins College/Munster Rugby)*
William Fitzpatrick (Wicklow RFC/Leinster Rugby)
Yaw Appiah (Wilson Hospital/Longford RFC)

*Denotes National Talent Squad


Jamie Kirk – Coach
Johne Murphy – Coach
Sebastian Delport – Coach
James O’Leary – Athletic Development
Alan Doonan – Analyst
Nicholas Lalor – Physio
Padraig Sheeran – Doctor
Mo Dempsey – Logistics
Wayne Mitchell – Manager