7 Connacht players named in Clovers squad

05 January 2024

7 Connacht players named in Clovers squad

Denis Fogarty has named his match day squads, for the second round of the Celtic Challenge.

Fogarty’s Clovers will play Brython Thunder at Energia Park this Saturday, (kick off 2.30pm).

Fogarty has made five changes to last weekend’s squad, as Faith Ovawie will start in the second row, Ivana Kiripati gets her start as flanker, Ailsa Hughes starts at scrum half and Jane Neill and Abbie Salter-Townshend come on to the bench.

Commenting on the squad announcement,  Fogarty said:

“Whilst it was disappointing to finish 21-15 last weekend, it was great to get the team performance we did. We have had another competitive training week this week and it is another opportunity to see a couple of new faces take to the pitch.”

“We want to keep raising our performance standards and enjoy our rugby and do our family and friends proud and it was great to see so many  people in support in Musgrave last weekend and we hope to see the same if not more support this Saturday in Energia Park.”

Both of Saturday’s games are available to stream for free on RugbyPass TV.

CLOVERS Team (v Brython Thunder, Celtic Challenge Round 2, Energia Park, Saturday, January 6, kick-off 2.30pm):

15. Aoife Corey (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
14. Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
13. Michelle O’Driscoll (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
12. Kayla Waldron (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
11. Clare Gorman (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
10. Méabh Deely (Blackrock College RFC/Connacht)
9. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
1. Niamh O’Dowd (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
2. Beth Buttimer (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
3. Sadhbh McGrath (Cooke RFC/Ulster) (captain)
4. Ruth Campbell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
5. Faith Oviawe (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
6. Brianna Heylmann (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
7. Ivana Kiripati (Creggs RFC/Connacht)
8. Shannon Touhey (Tullamore RFC/Connacht)

16. Lily Brady (UL Bohemian RFC/Connacht)
17. Róisín Ormond (Ballincollig RFC/Munster)
18. Eilís Cahill (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
19. Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
20. Jane Neill (Galwegians RFC/Leinster)
21. Abbie Salter-Townshend (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
22. Kate Flannery (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)
23. Clara Barrett (UL Bohemian RFC/Connacht)

Fixtures and Tickets

Edinburgh Rugby v Wolfhounds         
Saturday, January 6, Hive Stadium, 2pm

Clovers v Brython Thunder
Saturday, January 6, Energia Park, 2.30pm

Glasgow Warriors v Wolfhounds       
Saturday, January 13, Scotstoun Stadium, 2pm

Clovers v Gwalia Lightning
Sunday, January 14, Musgrave Park, 1pm

Wolfhounds v Brython Thunder
Saturday, January 27, Kingspan Stadium, 7.30pm

Glasgow Warriors v Clovers   
Saturday, January 27, Scotstoun Stadium, 2pm

Wolfhounds v Gwalia Lightning
Saturday, February 3, Energia Park, 2.30pm

Edinburgh Rugby v Clovers
Saturday, February 3, Hive Stadium, 12.30pm

Play-Off Rounds:

Saturday, February 17, Scotstoun Stadium
Saturday, February 24, Kingspan Stadium
Sunday, March 3, Parc y Scarlets