8 Connacht players in Ireland squad

02 June 2017

8 Connacht players in Ireland squad
Connacht's Nichola Fryday is one of eight Connacht players in the squad.

As preparations for the Women's Rugby World Cup continues, the Ireland Women's management team have confirmed the squad to attend a six-day camp in UCD with eight Connacht players included.

The uncapped Laura Feely is joined by Claire Molloy, Alison Miller, Ruth O’Reilly, Mairead Coyne, Mary Healy, Ciara O’Connor and Nichola Fryday in the squad.

As part of the camp, Ireland will play Japan in two uncapped, trial games as Head Coach Tom Tierney continues to shape his squad ahead of the Women's Rugby World Cup in August.

Speaking from UCD, Tierney said: "Plans are progressing well ahead of the tournament in August. Having taken some time to recover after the Six Nations, the players have gone through a tough physical conditioning programme over the last number of weeks, while we have also been working on our plans on the field through regular skills sessions.

“This camp in UCD gives everyone the opportunity to become familiar with the facilities on campus. We had a good taster back in November, but this gives us the chance to really understand what it will be like in August.

“Japan are currently in Europe, playing a number of games themselves as part of their own preparation, so to have the chance to play two trial games against them over the coming days gives us the chance to replicate a World Cup environment, where we'll be playing a game, recovering and then getting prepared to go out and perform again - all in the space of four days."

The games will not be open to the public, however match reports and highlights will be available via IrishRugby.ie.

Ireland Women's 15s Squad - UCD Camp


Elaine Anthony (Highfield/Munster)

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke/Ulster)

Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)

Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)

Jennie Finlay (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/Connacht)

Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Leah Lyons (Highfield/Munster)

Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)

Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/Leinster)

Heather O'Brien (Highfield/Munster)

Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)

Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)

Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Ilse van Staden (Cooke/Ulster)



Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/Leinster)

Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Mairead Coyne (Galwegians/Connacht)

Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Mary Healy (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)

Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian/Munster)

Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/Ulster)

Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)

Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union)

Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)

Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Aylesford Bulls)

Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Megan Williams (St. Mary's College)

For more on the Women's Rugby World Cup 2017 visit the tournament site: http://www.rwcwomens.com/

Click here to buy tickets for #WRWC2017 on ticketmaster: http://www.ticketmaster.ie/promo/wu4x0j/