Aki & Carty named in Ireland matchday squad for English international

22 August 2019

Aki & Carty named in Ireland matchday squad for English international
The Ireland team to play England in Twickenham on Saturday has been named. Rory Best returns to captain the side which includes several players making their season start.
Best is joined in the front row by Cian Healy, winning his 90th cap, and Tadhg Furlong. Jean Kleyn, who made his debut against Italy at the start of the month, is partnered in the second row with Iain Henderson.
The back row sees Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander get their first outing of the season.
Ross Byrne will win his 3rd international cap, having previously featured against Italy and the USA in the 2018 Guinness Series. Byrne starts at fly half outside the returning Conor Murray.
Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose renew their centre partnership from the final round of the Guinness Six Nations against Wales.
Rob Kearney starts at fullback with Jordan Larmour and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.
Jack Carty, who took over from the injured Joey Carbery in the game against Italy two weeks ago, is named in the replacements with Luke McGrath and Andrew Conway as the other back subs.
Sean Cronin and Jack McGrath are in line for their first start of the season off the bench which also includes Andrew Porter, Devin Toner and Tadhg Beirne who all featured at the Aviva Stadium earlier this month.
Ireland Team & Replacements (v England, Twickenham Stadium, Saturday, August 24, 3pm)
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 90 caps
14. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 14 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 21 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 17 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 19 caps
10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 72 caps

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 89 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 117 caps
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 33 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 45 caps
5. Jean Kleyn (Munster) 1 cap
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 57 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 31 caps

16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 68 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Marys College/Leinster) 55 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 15 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 65 caps
20. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 6 caps
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 4 caps
23. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 13 caps