All you need to know: Munster v Connacht

06 May 2024

All you need to know: Munster v Connacht

This weekend Connacht travel to Limerick where they face Munster in an interprovincial derby with both teams looking to rise up the BKT United Rugby Championship table.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of Saturday's game.

When’s the game?

Kick-off is 17:15 at Thomond Park on Saturday 11th May.

What’s the state of play?

After a bonus point win in their last two games against Zebre and Dragons, Pete Wilkins side find themselves in sixth position as they go into the final games of the regular season. Connacht have 44 points, the same as Benetton and Ulster in seventh and eighth position. Edinburgh who are just outside the top eight have 43 points while Ospreys and Lions are still in the chasing pack.

After two very impressive wins in South Africa Munster have climbed up to third in the table. They are undefeated in the URC since defeat at Dexcom Stadium back at the start of the new year.

How will the two teams line up?

The Connacht management team will announce their squad on Friday at midday when it will be named on and the Connacht Rugby social channels.


REF - Andrew Brace

AR - Peter Martin

AR - Paul Haycock

TMO - Mark Patton

Recent meetings against Munster in the URC:

2023/24 - CON 22-9 MUN

2022/23 - MUN 24-17 CON

2022/23 - CON 20-11 MUN

2021/22 - CON 10-8 MUN

2021/22 - MUN 20-18 CON

Connacht top try scorers 2023/24:

8 - Caolin Blade

7 - Cian Prendergast

5 - Bundee Aki and Diarmuid Kilgallen

4 - Shamus Hurley-Langton

3 - Dave Heffernan, JJ Hanrahan and Shayne Bolton

2 - Cathal Forde, Dylan Tierney-Martin, Jack Aungier, Joe Joyce, Matthew Devine, Niall Murray, Sean Jansen, Sean O'Brien, Tadgh McElroy and Tom Farrell

1 - Andrew Smith, Conor Oliver, David Hawkshaw, Eoin de Buitlear, Finlay Bealham, John Porch, Paul Boyle, Peter Dooley, Tiernan O'Halloran

How do I get tickets?

Tickets available through Munster Rugby

What channel is it on?

TV viewing on RTE, SuperSport and Premier Sport.


Pete Wilkins

Conor Oliver