Ard Na Cregg Cup Final Tonight

11 May 2017

Ard Na Cregg Cup Final Tonight
Ciaran Coyle starts at scrum-half for OLBC.

The starting line-ups have been named for tonight’s eagerly-anticipated Ard na Cregg Cup final at Cloonacauneen as Corinthians Thirds host OLBC (7.30pm, free admission).

It is expected to be an extremely tight encounter with OLBC, who last won the competition five years ago, slight underdogs having lost 22-16 when the sides met in October.

Another victory tonight would secure the double for the Corinthians Thirds after they clinched the J2 title in March but OLBC will provide a stern test with very little to choose between the sides.

Both teams secured their places in the decider after comfortable wins in the earlier stages of the competition.

Hosts Corinthians were 37-10 winners over Connemara in the quarter-final before a 30-5 victory against old rivals Galwegians.

OLBC started their campaign in impressive fashion as they swept past Oughterard on a 58-17 scoreline before a 26-7 win over Ballina in the semi-final.

Corinthians: Owen Jordan; Coilí Hegerty, Warren Beattie, Colm Conway, Declan Loughnane; Patrick Long, John Morrison; Daniel Maloney, Jason Barrett, Michael Sampier; Declan Hogan, Colm McHugh; Steven O'Reilly, James Downing, Lorcan Smyth.

Replacements from: Simon Flaherty, Aidan O'Connor, Conleth Mullen, Dennis Grealish, Alan Quinn, James  Keavney, Padraig Cuddy, Jamie Kearns, Ricardo Gavaria, Lester Naughton, Micheal Donoghue, Padraic O'Tuairisg, Micheal Ward, Michael Roche, Niall Egan, Patrick O'Shea.

Coach: Shane Maher

Manager: Colm Conway

OLBC: Noel Farragher; Eamon O’ Flaherty, Connor Flynn, Aaron Murray; Johnny Long, Ciaran Coyle, Daithi Joyce; Enda Stanford, Martin Hughes, John Barry; James Moran, Albert Lane; Tom Breen, Shane Connors, David Reilly.

Replacements from: James Grealish, Mattia Cestonaro, Emmett Grehan, Sean Glynn, David Rowland, David Arkins, Phillip Keeley, Mantas Balaisis, Jason Molloy, Ben Heath.

Coach: Donncha Carey

Manager: John Tyreman