Calasanctius Take Development Title

22 March 2017

Calasanctius Take Development Title
Top Oil Junior Development Cup Final

Calasanctius College Oranmore 19-16 Coláiste Bhaile Chláir

Calasanctius College's James Phillips celebrates at the final whistle                                                                 Photo: ©INPHO/James Crombie

Calasanctius College Oranmore survived a late onslaught to claim the honours in the Top Oil Connacht Junior Development Cup final at a sunny Sportsground.

Having established a 14-3 lead after the opening 30 minutes, looked in complete control but Coláiste Bhaile Chláir stormed back into the match with captain Diarmuid Kilcommins to the fore.

It was Coláiste Bhaile Chláir that hit the front early on as Kilcommins expertly slotted a long-range penalty having been tackled late after a break up the right flank and hack clear.

It was all Oranmore thereafter however and two tries gave them a commanding lead at the break. The first try came after an extended period of pressure with Shane Cotter touching down before Bill Walsh added a second from close range as captain David McCarthy kicked both conversions.

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir made a strong start to the seond half with Kilcommins combining with Daragh Berthoz with full-back Berthoz scoring in the left corner to make it 14-8.

A Kilcommins penalty from 40 metres as the game entered the final 10 minutes made it 14-11 and game on.

Calasanctius stretched the lead back to eight points with a try in the left corner from Lucas Joyce to make it 19-11.

Needing two scores, Coláiste finished strongly and scored in the right corner through Fintin Cogley to make it 19-16.

One final push yielded a penalty and Bhaile Chláir bravely turned down the opportunity to tie the game with a three-pointer and went for the jugular but Calasanctius held out for the title.

Calasanctius College: Ronan Hannify; Jack Rooney, Henri Heskin, Shane Cotter, Adam Treacy; David McCarthy (C), Ben Wright; Ian Butler, Lucas Joyce, Bill Walsh; Henri Bartolozzi, Gavin O’Leary; Ethan Connolly, Jack O’Sullivan, Hubert Costello.

Replacements: Tony Hopkins, Jeffwin George, Morgan O’Loughlin, Liam Fahy, James Phillips, Timi Ojo, Ronniel Oguekwe, Sean Brennan, Thomas Fitzmaurice, Cillian Cawley, Alphy John Kuriakose Sabu.

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir: Daragh Berthoz; Simon Coyle, Diarmuid Kilcommins (C), Nathan Burke, Killian Berthhoz; Adam Reilly, Gearoid Hennessy; Killian Goaley, Peter Coyne, Killian Lalour; Garry Fox, Sam Concannon; Jack Concannon, Flannán Varden Kenny, Shane Farragher.

Replacements: Kenny Costello, Ethan Kilcoyne, Michael Higgins, Ronan Grealish, Warren Bedford, Darren O’Brien, Seán Connelly, Alex Ryan, Conor Keane, Ethan Kaya, Fintin Cogley.