Carty set for first Ireland start alongside Marmion and Aki

29 August 2019

Carty set for first Ireland start alongside Marmion and Aki
Connacht out half Jack Carty is set to take another step on his international career as gets his first start in and Ireland jersey to add to his five previous caps off the bench. Carty will be surrounded by familiar faces as Kieran Marmion is named as his half back partner with Bundee Aki at 12.

Head Coach Joe Schmidt has announced a much changed side led by Peter O’Mahony with Rory Best in the replacements.

Jack Conan and Tadgh Beirne join O’Mahony in the backrow with Iain Henderson and James Ryan packing down at lock.

Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan make up an all Munster front row combination with the Connacht pair of Connacht pair of Marmion and Carty at 9 and 10.

Aki and Chris Farrell partner up in the centre for a fifth run out together with Will Addison supported in the backfield by Andrew Conway and Jacob Stockdale.

The replacements on Saturday are Rory Best, Andrew Porter, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Jordi Murphy, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose and Dave Kearney.

The match will be broadcast live by Channel 4 and RTE Radio.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Wales, Principality Stadium, Saturday, August 31)

15. Will Addison (Enniskillen/Ulster) 3 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 14 caps
13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 6 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 18 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 20 caps
10. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 5 caps
9. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 26 caps

1.Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 29 caps
2. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 15 caps
3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 19 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 46 caps
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 17 caps
6. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 7 caps
7. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 58 caps
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 14 caps

16. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 118 caps
17. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 16 caps
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 34 caps
19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 66 caps
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Ulster) 28 caps
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 12 caps
22. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 22 caps
23. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18 caps