Connacht Academy squad confirmed for 2022/23 season

21 July 2022

Connacht Academy squad confirmed for 2022/23 season
Connacht Rugby can announce that so far a 13-player squad has been assembled for this season's Connacht Academy.
There are six Year 1 additions, including U20 Six Nations winner Matthew Devine and his brother John, both of whom came through the ranks at Garbally College and Ballinasloe RFC.
Also included is Ballina RFC's Harry West and a trio of Ireland U20 Six Nations winners - Daniel Hawkshaw (brother of new Pro arrival David Hawkshaw), Oisin Michel and Leitrim native Shane Mallon.
Moving up to Year 2 are Sligo's Hubert Gilvarry, Buccaneers RFC duo Will Reilly and Josh O'Connor, and prop Bart Vermeulen.
Completing the squad so far are Year 3 players Eoin de Buitléar from An Cheathrú Rua, Sligo native Donnacha Byrne, and prop Charlie Ward.
Further players may be added as the season progresses.
Year 1
Matthew Devine - Scrum-Half
John Devine - Centre
Daniel Hawkshaw - Centre
Shane Mallon - Centre
Oisin Michel - Prop
Harry West - Out-Half
Year 2
Hubert Gilvarry - Scrum-Half
Josh O'Connor - Back Three
Will Reilly - Scrum-Half
Bart Vermeulen - Prop
Year 3
Eoin de Buitléar - Hooker
Donnacha Byrne - Back Row
Charlie Ward - Prop