Connacht Eagles team named for Celtic Cup opener with Dragons

22 August 2019

Connacht Eagles team named for Celtic Cup opener with Dragons
The Connacht Eagles management team have named their matchday 23 for tomorrow's Celtic Cup opener against the Dragons at The Sportsground (k/o 2pm).
The competition gives many of the Connacht Academy players an opportunity to impress and get regular game-time, with tomorrow's tie the first of seven games across as many weeks.
The side is captained by hooker Jonny Murphy who's joined in the front row by Matthew Burke and Conor Kenny. Ireland U20 Grand Slam winner Niall Murray is handed a spot in the second row alongside Cillian Gallagher, while the pack is completed by Academy players Seán Masterson, Lucas Culliton and Mikey Wilson.
In the backs Stephen Kerins and Conor Dean form a half-back pairing, while Academy duo Luke Carty and Seán O'Brien are named in the centre. A back three of wingers Peter Sullivan and Hugh Lane and full-back Conor Hayes completes the side.
Kick-off is at 2pm tomorrow and tickets are available HERE.
CONNACHT EAGLES v DRAGONS (2pm Friday 23rd August @ The Sportsground)
15. Conor Hayes
14. Hugh Lane
13. Seán O'Brien
12. Luke Carty
11. Peter Sullivan
10. Conor Dean
9. Stephen Kerins
1. Matthew Burke
2. Jonny Murphy (c)
3. Conor Kenny
4. Niall Murray
5. Cillian Gallagher
6. Seán Masterson
7. Lucas Culliton
8. Mikey Wilson

16. Dylan Tierney-Martin
17. Conor Maguire
18. Ryan Lomas
19. Cormac Daly
20. Declan Adamson
21. Aran Hehir
22. Dylan Prendergast
23. Diarmuid Kilgannen