Connacht Junior Squad Named for Second Interpro

04 May 2023

Connacht Junior Squad Named for Second Interpro

This Saturday, the Connacht Juniors take the pitch again for the second match in their Interpro campaign which sees them taking on Leinster Rugby on Saturday 6th May in Portlaoise RFC at 2:30 PM.  

Head Coach Barry Ruane and his management team have released their squad for this weekend’s Interpro fixture vs Leinster Rugby.

There are 10 Connacht Clubs represented in this weekend’s squad; we would like to wish the players and management the very best of luck for the Interpro Series. Connemara RFC’s Michael O’Toole will Captain the side.



15. Henry O'Toole, Connemara RFC
14. Ross Murphy-Sweeney, Buccaneers RFC
13. Eoghan Coyle, Creggs RFC
12. Barry Walsh, Castlebar RFC 
11. Ethan Griffiths, Connemara RFC
10. Shane Purcell, Creggs RFC
9. Michael O’Toole (Captain), Connemara RFC
1. Aidan Healy, Ballyhaunis RFC
2. Benjamin Hynes, Sligo RFC
3. Ian Staunton, Connemara RFC
4. Rory Murphy, Ballinrobe RFC
5. Oisin Halpin, University of Galway RFC
6. Brian Diffney, Creggs RFC
7. Tommy Mullin, Connemara RFC
8. Fintan Cawley, Ballyhaunis RFC


  1. Jamie Gerathy, Dunmore RFC*
  2. Stephen O’Toole, Dunmore RFC
  3. Craig Hansberry, Ballinrobe RFC
  4. Liam Robinson, Castlebar RFC
  5. Eoin Sweeney, Tuam RFC
  6. Ian Heanue, Connemara RFC
  7. Ian Murphy, Tuam RFC
  8. Sean O'Sullivan, Tuam RFC
  9. Sean O’Grady, University of Galway RFC

*Denotes first cap



Head Coach: Barry Ruane, Tuam RFC

Manager: Declan Slattery, Tuam RFC 

Manager: Sean Higgins, Tuam RFC

Forwards Coach: Alan Bane, Castlebar RFC

Backs Coach: Eddie Walsh, Westport RFC

Physio: Damien Burke



Saturday April 29th 2023

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 1

Connacht - 17 v Munster - 24, Tuam RFC

Leinster - 42 v Ulster - 27, Tullow RFC

Saturday May 6th 2023

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 2

Leinster v Connacht, Portlaoise RFC, 2:30pm

Ulster v Munster, Inishowen RFC, 2:30pm

Saturday May 13th 2023

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 3

Connacht v Ulster, Clifden RFC, 2:30pm

Munster v Leinster, Waterford City RFC, 2:30pm