Connacht Juniors Squad vs Ulster Announced

25 April 2024

Connacht Juniors Squad vs Ulster Announced

The Connacht Juniors squad, sponsored by Aerogen, has now been named for the Junior Interprovincial match against Ulster Rugby this Saturday, 27th August.

The Connacht Juniors are back and ready to once again take on their provincial counterparts in the Junior Interprovincial Series. Looking ahead to the competition and the first match this coming Saturday, Head Coach Alan Bane says, "As a group we are really looking forward to the opportunity to represent Connacht. We’ve been training hard over the past few weeks with a very talented squad and now it’s time to put that work to the test. It’s hard for any team to travel up to Ulster and get a win but there’s a massive belief that this squad can do it". 

Captain Martin Staunton (Buccaneers RFC) added, "To be involved with the Connacht Junior team is a real privilege. The work that the coaches and players have put in since we’ve joined up has been immense. As a group we are really looking forward to this year’s competition where hopefully we can have a good crack at it, starting with Ulster away this weekend!"

The first match of the Junior Interprovincial Series this Saturday will be taking place at City of Derry Rugby Club where the Connacht Juniors, sponsored by Aerogen, will take on the Ulster Juniors. Kick-off is 2:30pm and all visitors are welcome to come and cheer on the Connacht Juniors! Admission is £5, and there will be hot food stalls and bouncy castles for kids available.

Connacht Juniors vs Ulster Juniors Squad:

15. Mark Purcell - Creggs RFC
14. Ethan Griffiths - Connemara RFC
13. Barry Walsh - Castlebar RFC
12. Eoghan Coyle - Creggs RFC
11. Ian Murphy - Tuam RFC
10. Shane Purcell - Creggs RFC
9. Zach Wright - Castlebar RFC

1. Aidan Healy - Ballyhaunis RFC
2. Benjamin Hynes - Sligo Rugby
3. Martin Staunton - Buccaneers RFC (Captain)
4. Ciaran Cummins - Sligo Rugby
5. Sean Connolly - Castlebar RFC
6. Brian Diffley - Creggs RFC
7. Tommy Mullen - Connemara RFC
8. Fintan Crawley - Ballyhaunis RFC

16. Ross Bourke - Westport RFC
17. Eoghan Cahill - Creggs RFC
18. Ronan Ipek - Castlebar RFC
19. Michael Jordan - Ballyhaunis RFC
20. Ryan Cummins - Dunmore RFC
21. Evan Flynn - Corrib RFC
22. Louis McVitty - Sligo Rugby
23. Ross Murphy Sweeney - Buccaneers RFC

Management Team:

Head Coach: Alan Bane

Assistant Coach: Darin Claasen 

Assistant Coach: Craig Hansberry  

Manager: Jimmy Roddy

Kit Manager: Derek Carlin

Physio: Damien Burke



Saturday, 27th April 2024

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 1

at City of Derry RFC, 2:30pm k/o

Ulster v Connacht

Saturday, 4th May 2024

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 2

at Creggs RFC, 2:30pm k/o

Connacht v Leinster, Creggs RFC

Saturday May 11th 2024

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series Round 3

at Rathcooney (Old Christians, Cork), 2:30pm k/o

Munster v Connacht