Connacht Juniors team announced for opening interpro with Ulster in Castlebar

26 April 2019

Connacht Juniors team announced for opening interpro with Ulster in Castlebar
Connemara RFC's David McDonagh will captain the Connacht Juniors when they take on Ulster this Saturday in the opening game of the Junior Interprovincial Championship in Castlebar (k/o 2.30pm).
McDonagh is one of 7 players in the starting 15 from Connemara, who sealed a J1A League and Junior Cup double last month. In the backs he is joined by clubmate scrum-half Michael O'Toole, winger Marty Conneelly and full-back Henry O'Toole, while in the forwards Barry Gibbons, Niall Staunton and TJ Berry are selected in the first, second and back row respectively.
Gibbons is at hooker where he'll be joined by props Aidan Leech (Creggs RFC) and Conor Mitchell (Sligo RFC), while Gerard Ward (Monivea RFC) will partner Staunton in the front row. Two more Creggs players complete the back row, where flankers Brian Diffley and James Brandon play alongside number 8 TJ Berry.
The fourth Creggs player included in the starting 15 is Shane Dowd who is named at out-half, while Craig McCormick of Ballina RFC starts at outside centre. The team is completed by Castlebar RFC's Conor Carter who will line out in his home ground on the wing.
The front row replacements are made up of Rory Grenham (Buccaneers RFC), Michael McColgan (NUIG RFC) and Ian Staunton (Connemara RFC). Completing the bench are two more Buccaneers players, Owen Treacy and Robert Enraght-Moony, alongside Creggs duo Brian Donohue and Andrew Callaghan, and Sligo RFC's Sean Mullin.
Kick-off at Castlebar RFC is at 2.30pm this Saturday.
15. Henry O'Toole (Connemara RFC)
14. Marty Conneely (Connemara RFC)
13. Craig McCormick (Ballina RFC)
12. David McDonagh (Connemara RFC) (C)
11. Conor Carter (Castelbar RFC)
10. Shane Dowd (Creggs RFC)
9. Michael O'Toole (Connemara RFC)
1. Aidan Leech (Creggs RFC)
2. Barry Gibbons (Connemara RFC)
3. Conor Mitchell (Sligo RFC)
4. Niall Staunton (Connemara RFC)
5. Gerard Ward (Monivea RFC)
6. Brian Diffley (Creggs RFC)
7. James Brandon (Creggs RFC)
8. TJ Berry (Connemara RFC)

16. Rory Grenham (Buccaneers RFC)
17. Michael McColgan (NUIG RFC)
18. Ian Staunton (Connemara RFC)
19. Brian Donohue (Creggs RFC)
20. Owen Treacy (Buccaneers RFC)
21. Andrew Callaghan (Creggs RFC)
22. Robert Enraght-Moony (Buccaneers RFC)
23. Sean Mullin (Sligo RFC)
[wds id="84"]