Connacht team named for Ulster game

25 August 2023

Connacht team named for Ulster game

The Connacht Women's team for Round 3 of the Vodafone Women's Interprovincial Championship has been named  to take on Ulster this Saturday at The Sportsground, (k/o 2.30pm). The Connacht Women's teams are sponsored by Genesys.

There are four personnel changes to the starting XV from last weekend's game down in Cork. In come Orla Dixon at outside centre, Dearbhla Canty at tighthead, Eva McCormack in the second row and Beibhinn Gleeson at openside flanker.

Clara Barrett moves from centre to wing with Ava Ryder and Méabh Deely in the back three while Shannon Touhey moves to inside centre.

The half-back pair remain the same with Oliva Haverty and captain Nicole Fowley.

Shannon Heapes starts at loosehead with Lily Brady at hooker in the front row. Sonia McDermott continues in the second row with Orla Fenton and Karly Tierney in the back row.

Connacht Head Coach Lyndon Jones:

"We felt our performance last weekend wasn’t a true reflection of what this team is capable of producing. We'll need to be better this weekend."

"We've had some incredible battles with Ulster over the last few seasons, and we expect Saturday to be exactly the same."

The match will be shown live on TG4 while Galway Bay have radio commentary.

Saturday 26th August, 14:30 Irish time @ The Sportsground


15. Meabh Deely 
14. Ava Ryder
13. Orla Dixon
12. Shannon Touhey
11. Clara Barrett
10. Nicole Fowley (C)
9. Olivia Haverty
1. Shannon Heapes
2. Lily Brady
3. Dearbhla Canty
4. Sonia McDermott
5. Eva McCormack
6. Orla Fenton
7. Beibhinn Gleeson
8. Karly Tierney

16. Stacy Hanley
17. Grainne O'Loughlin
18. Niamh O'Grady
19. Faith Oviawe
20. Mollie Starr
21. Kayla Waldron
22. Cliodhna O'Sullivan
23. Laoise McGonagle