Connacht U18 Girls Squad vs Ulster Announced

25 August 2023

Connacht U18 Girls Squad vs Ulster Announced

The Connacht U18 Girls take on Ulster in their second Interpro of the season this Saturday, 26th August at Corinthians RFC. (12:00 PM k/o). Our underage teams are sponsored by Atlantic Techological University (ATU).


Last Saturday, the Connacht U18 girls travelled to Musgrave Park, Cork for their first game of the Interpro series. A 13-5 win against Munster was a well-earned result for this young squad. The girls showed huge determination throughout the 70 minutes, refusing to allow Munster to break their defence.

Defence Coach Luke O'Donnell said, "our objectives focus on the girls: as much on improving rugby skillsets as on smoothing their transition from Youths to Adult rugby. We've been celebrating improvement for the past 10 weeks, we saw more on Saturday, we'll see it again today. We're only looking for a performance. If this crew can keep putting in performances, results will follow".

We now turn our attention to this Saturday when we play Ulster. Knowing the work Ulster rugby put in, we anticipate they will be a physical side, leaving nothing to chance. We have trained with Ulster & have had friendlies against them, but when both teams face each other on Saturday they will give it their all.

Manager Natalie Fox said about Saturday, "some slight changes from last week's team as we aim to improve week on week. As this a free event, we would hope families and friends of the squad will turn out and support them in their Connacht journey. The girls have worked hard, they deserve to be applauded".


Saturday 26th August, 12:00 @ Corinthians RFC

15. Jemma Lees (Galwegians RFC)
14. Emily Foley (Ballina RFC)
13. Ailbhe Gannon (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
12. Sarah Purcell (Creggs RFC) Captain
11. Saoirse Lawley (Sligo RFC)
10. Siofra Hession (Creggs RFC)
9. Grainne Moran (Ballina RFC)
1. Louise Seoige (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
2. Uillin Eilian (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
3. Ella Burns (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
4. Catherine Fleming (Ballinasloe RFC)
5. Jemima Adams Verling (Creggs RFC)
6. Merisa Kiripati (Creggs RFC)
7. Ailish Quinn (Ballina RFC) Vice Captain
8. Róisín Power (Ballinasloe RFC)

16. Amy Horan (Ballinrobe RFC)
17. Ciara Corrigan (Creggs RFC)
18. Lauren Hunter (Sligo RFC)
19. Chloe Conneely (Connemara RFC)
20. Ruby Comer (Corinthians RFC)
21. Aoife Heaney (Claremorris RFC)
22. Aisling Whyte (Corinthians RFC)
23. Meabh Flannery (Corinthians RFC)

Head Coach: Craig Hansberry
Backs Coach: Luke O'Donnell
Forwards Coach: Simon Lawless
Skills Coach: Simon O'Malley
Team Manager: Natalie Fox


U18 Interprovincial Series, game 2

Connacht v Ulster

Saturday, 26th August

Corinthians RFC, 12:00 PM K/o


As always, all support is greatly appreciated.