Connacht U18s fall to Munster defeat

11 September 2017

Connacht U18s fall to Munster defeat
Connacht's Conor O'Shaughnessy is tackled by Ciaran Evans.

The Connacht U18s fell to a 22-7 defeat away to Munster on Saturday in their opening Interprovincial clash on Saturday.

Playing against the elements in the opening half, Connacht trailed 17-7 at the break and were in a good position to push on after the interval.

Munster had different plans, however, and defended superbly throughout the second half and a late intercept try put a gloss on the scoreline.

Connacht made an excellent start  and opened the scoring within six minutes of kick-off when Billy McVann made a break from a maul following a five-metre lineout to score the game’s opening try with his Ballina club colleague Craig McCormack converting.

With the wind at their backs, Munster began to turn the screw and Charlie O’Doherty opened their account with a try as Conor O’Brien converted to tie the scores at seven points apiece.

Munster took the lead when the ball was spread out to David McNamara following a ruck inside the Connacht 22 and O’Brien added his second conversion.

O’Brien stretched the margin to ten points with a penalty from outside the visitors’ 22 before Craig McCormack narrowly missed a penalty for Connacht on the stroke of half-time.

The only score of the second half came three minutes from time when Ben Daly sprinted from his own 22 after intercepting a Connacht pass to score a try in the corner, which he failed to convert.

Munster: Conor O’Brien (Nenagh Ormond RFC/Nenagh CBS); Chimdi Oji (Douglas RFC/ Douglas Community School), Ciaran Evans (Midleton RFC/Midleton CBS), Patrick Scully (Fethard RFC/Thurles CBS), David McNamara (Ennis RFC/Ennistymon Technical School); Ben Daly (Waterpark RFC/Ard Scoil Na Mhara), Charlie O’Doherty (Newcastle Wes RFC/ Scoil Mhuire agus Ide); Conor Morrissey (Cork Constitution FC/Mayfield Community School), Paudie McCarthy (Bantry Bay RFC/Colaiste Phobail Bheanntrai), Darragh Fitzgerald (Rugbai Chorca Dhuibhne/Pobailscoil Chorca Dhuibhne); Thomas Ahern (Dungarvan RFC/St Augustine’s Dungarvan), Eoin O’Connor (Waterpark RFC/Gael Cholaiste Phort Lairge); Mark Stafford (Midleton RFC/Midleton College), Evan Murphy (Nenagh Ormond RFC/Nenagh CBS), Oisin Cooke (Garryowen FC/Villiers School).

Replacements: Harry Jephson (Waterpark RFC/ Newtown School), Ciaran Bohane (Ballincollig RFC/Gael Cholaiste Choilm), Shane O’Driscoll (Midleton RFC/Midleton College), Seaghan Walsh (Waterford City RFC/De La Salle College), Jack O’Keeffe (Nenagh Ormond RFC/ Nenagh CBS), Kevin O’Connor (Cashel RFC/Cashel Community School), Alan Kiely (St Mary’s RFC/Colaiste Chiarain Croom), Jamie Shanahan (Skibbereen RFC/ Skibbereen Community School)

Connacht: Conor O’Shaughnessy (Galwegians RFC/St Jartlath’s College); Dara Hanrahan (Corinthians RFC/ Colaiste Iognaid), Saul O’Carroll (Buccaneers RFC/Garbally College), Craig McCormack (Ballina RFC/Gortnor Abbey), Shane Jennings (Ballinasloe RFC/Garbally College); Adam Cunningham (Galwegians RFC/Colaiste Iognaid), Evan Kenny (Corinthians RFC/Colaiste Iognaid); Cathal O’Grady (Buccaneers RFC/Marist College), Billy McVann (Ballina RFC/St Muredach’s), Niall Carney (Corinthians RFC/St Jartlath’s College); Dara Murray (Buccaneers/St Aloysius College), Iarlaith Laheen-Morrin (Galwegians RFC/Calasanctius College); Sean Keaney (Galwegians RFC/The Bish), Mathias O’Neill (Buccaneers RFC/Marist College), Jack Mulholland (Corinthians RFC/The Bish)

Replacements: Darren Browne (Buccaneers RFC/Marist College), Caolin Hopkins (Ballina RFC/St Josephâs Foxford), Liam Doyle (Buccaneers RFC/Marist College), Thomas Connolly (Galwegians RFC), Oisin McCormack (Ballinasloe RFC/Garbally College), Tim Lambe (Creggs RFC/Roscommon CBS), Daniel Plaster (Castlebar RFC/St Gerald’s College), Nathan Horan (Buccaneers RFC/Garbally College).

Munster's David McNamara scores a try despite Connacht's Adam Cunningham

Munster's Ben Daly scores a try despite Connacht's Daniel Plaster

Munster's Chimdi Oji with Connacht's Shane Jennings

Munster's Ben Daly with Connacht's Nathan Horan