Connacht Womens Squad Named for 2019 Interpros

12 August 2019

Connacht Womens Squad Named for 2019 Interpros
The Connacht Women management team have named a 34-player extended squad for the 2019 Womens Interprovincial Championships which begin this weekend.
Head Coach Brian McClearn, who takes charge of the side for the first time, has named Nichola Fryday as captain with fellow Irish international Mary Healy selected as vice-captain.
The squad begin their campaign away to Leinster this Saturday 17th August (k/o 5.30pm), with their sole home fixture coming a week later against Munster at The Sportsground. They then conclude their round-robin stage with a trip to Queens University to face Ulster on 31st August. That game against Munster at 3pm on Saturday 24th August will form a double header with the Under 18s also facing Munster at 1pm.
In a change to the competition structure the interpros will conclude with two semi-finals and final based on each team’s finishing position in the round robin. These semi-finals will be held on Saturday 14th September with the final and 3rd place playoff the following weekend.
Brian McClearn says the squad are well prepared for the upcoming month of action.
“Preparations have been going very well since we started training earlier in the summer. As with any new management team we have been keen to implement our philosophy as quickly as possible and the squad have responded well to it so far.
This year we have Alison Miller involved as a player-coach while Stephen Kerins from the pro team is also on board as backs coach. We also have Eamon Duane and Ann Caffrey in physio and S&C roles while Mark ‘Barney’ Moran remains Team Manager. They have all made a great impact and I’m delighted to have them as part of the backroom team.
We have picked a squad which I believe has a positive blend of youth and experience, and can have a big say in this Interpro series. Plenty of our players know what these interpros are all about, but we have also included a number of players who were a part of last season’s U18 Girls squad that won the Interprovincial title. They have added a lot to our sessions and I’m glad to have them on board.
I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank the clubs who accommodated us earlier in the season as we began our preparations, particularly Loughrea RFC and Ballinasloe RFC. Their support was greatly appreciated.”

2019 Connacht Rugby Women’s squad
Lily Brady (Westport RFC)
Tara Buggie (Galwegians RFC)
Lisa Carroll (Westport RFC)
Ciara Farrell (Tullamore RFC)
Kate Feehan (Westport RFC)
Laura Feely (Galwegians RFC)
Nichola Fryday (Galwegians RFC)
Moya Griffin (Tullamore RFC)
Jessica Loftus (Westport RFC)
Edel McMahon (Galwegians RFC)
Elizabeth McNicholas (Tuam RFC)
Katie Murray (Tullamore RFC)
Aifric O’Brien (Suttonians RFC)
Alex O’Brien (Tullow RFC)
Niamh O’Grady (Westport RFC)
Nicola Caldbeck (Tullow RFC)
Anne-Marie O’Hora (Galwegians RFC)
Denise Redmond (Galwegians RFC)
Aisling Brosnan (Carlow RFC)
Rachel Cox (Westport RFC)
Mairead Coyne (Galwegians RFC)
Meabh Deely (Ballinasloe RFC)
Orla Dixon (Galwegians RFC)
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians RFC)
Rebecca Gavin (Westport RFC)
Mary Healy (Galwegians RFC)
Shannen Lane (Galwegians RFC)
Catherine Martin (Suttonians RFC)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere RFC)
Hazel Moran (Westport RFC)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC)
Aoibheann Reilly (Ballinasloe RFC)
Ursula Sammon (Galwegians RFC)
Shannon Touhey (Galwegians RFC)
Leinster Women v Connacht Women, Energia Park (17 August, k/o 5.30pm)
Connacht Women v Munster Women, The Sportsground (24 August, k/o 3.00pm)
Ulster Women v Connacht Women, Queens University (31 August, k/o 3.30pm)