Connacht Women's squad named for Women's Interprovincial Championship

03 January 2023

Connacht Women's squad named for Women's Interprovincial Championship

The Connacht Women management team have named a 37-player extended training squad for the upcoming Vodafone Women’s Interprovincial Championship.
The team return to action this Saturday when they travel to Leinster for the first round of the Championship, with a 2.30pm kick-off at Energia Park.
The squad are back on the road the following week with a trip to Kingspan Stadium to face Ulster on Saturday 14th January with another 2.30pm start.
Their sole home game follows on Saturday 21st January for a 1pm kick-off at home to Munster at The Sportsground. Tickets are on sale now below with free entry for all Season Ticket holders.
[maxbutton id="18"]
Head Coach Lyndon Jones says he can’t wait for the Championship to get going:
“It’s great that the games are finally here. The squad have been training really hard over Christmas so now it’s about putting all our hard work into practice over the next three weeks.
Thanks to the ongoing work of our Women’s Emerging Talent programme we have seen a number of exciting young players come through the ranks in the 15 months since our last competitive game. A number of those are named in today’s squad.
We've a few players unavailable through injury, while Beibhinn Parsons and Anna McGann are on the IRFU Sevens programme, but I feel we’ve still put together a really strong squad – which is a testament to all the hard work being done by both Connacht and the clubs in continuing to grow the Women’s game.
We’ve just the one home game this year so I’d really encourage every rugby supporter in the province to come out and support the group on the 21st. It would be well deserved for these players after all their efforts and commitment the past few months.”


Forwards (22)
Katelyn Bourke
Lily Brady
Grace Browne-Moran
Dearbhla Canty
Hannah Coen
Emma Fabby
Laura Feely
Orla Fenton
Emily Gavin
Stacy Hanley
Maria Kelleher
Jessica Loftus
Eva McCormack
Sonia McDermott
Elizabeth McNicholas
Lisa-Marie Murphy
Niamh O’Grady
Grainne O’Loughlin
Alana Roche
Fiona Scally
Mollie Starr
Karly Tierney

Backs (15)
Clara Barrett
Finola Collins
Mairead Coyne
Meabh Deely
Orla Dixon
Nicole Fowley
Maria Gorham
Olivia Haverty
Mary Healy
Laoise McGonagle
Eabha Nic Dhonnacha
Sarah O’Connell
Ava Ryder
Shannon Touhey
Kayla Waldron

Lyndon Jones – Head Coach
Jill O’Malley – Team Manager
Craig Hansberry – Forwards Coach
Emer O’Dowd – Assistant Coach
Diarmuid Codyre – Assistant Coach
Jim Herring – Video Analysis
Ann Caffrey – Strength & Conditioning
Andy Moran – Physio


UNAVAILABLE: Aoibheann Reilly, Rhiann Heery, Julia Bauer, Ellen Taite, Beibhinn Parsons, Anna McGann.