Five Connacht players in Ireland Women's squad for Six Nations warm-up

17 January 2019

Five Connacht players in Ireland Women's squad for Six Nations warm-up
Ireland Women's head coach Adam Griggs has announced a 29-strong squad ahead of Sunday's uncapped Six Nations warm-up fixture against Wales at Energia Park in Donnybrook (kick-off 1pm).
Eight uncapped players have been included in the Ireland squad for the warm-up fixture with Linda Djougang (pictured below), Anne Marie O'Hora, Hannah O'Connor and Claire Boles featuring in the forwards, while Kathryn Dane, Claire Keohane, Ailbhe Dowling and Enya Breen are picked among the backs.
Speaking ahead of the weekend's match, Adam Griggs said: "We have had two very productive training camps since Christmas and the players have been working hard to make sure we carry on from the good performance we had in our last autumn international against England in Twickenham.
"While we didn't get the result we were after in that game the players took a big step in terms of their development and now have a feel for what is required at international level.
"It's great to get a warm-up fixture for the Six Nations of this quality where we will be able to try out some new combinations and really test ourselves in what we have been doing in camp together.
"We are missing some key players who are unavailable to us due to injury which is unfortunate and not ideal at the start of the Six Nations, but it is a chance to give some very talented new faces an opportunity to put their hands up and show us they can compete at international level."
The Ireland Women get their Six Nations campaign underway against England at Energia Park on Friday, February 1 (kick-off 5pm). The two-for-one ticket offer has been extended - buy yours now on
IRELAND WOMEN'S Squad (v Wales, Women's Six Nations Warm-Up Match, Energia Park, Donnybrook, Sunday, January 20, kick-off 1pm):
Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster) *
Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
Anna Caplice (Richmond)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster) *
Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Ailbhe Dowling (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Laura Feely (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/Connacht)
Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/Connacht)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Emma Hooban (St. Mary's/Leinster)
Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/Leinster)
Claire Keohane (Railway Union/Munster) *
Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
Claire Molloy (Wasps)
Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Hannah O'Connor (Blackrock/Leinster) *
Anne Marie O'Hora (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Juliet Short (Railway Union/Leinster)
Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
* Denotes uncapped player at this level
Friday, February 1:
IRELAND WOMEN v ENGLAND WOMEN, Energia Park, Donnybrook, 5pm (live RTÉ/Sky Sports)
Friday, February 8:
SCOTLAND WOMEN v IRELAND WOMEN, Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow, 7.35pm (live RTÉ)
Saturday, February 23:
ITALY WOMEN v IRELAND WOMEN, Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, 7.30pm local time/6.30pm Irish time (live RTÉ/Eurosport Italia)
Saturday, March 9:
IRELAND WOMEN v FRANCE WOMEN, Energia Park, Donnybrook, 7pm (live RTÉ/France Televisions)
Sunday, March 17:
WALES WOMEN v IRELAND WOMEN, Cardiff Arms Park, 1.30pm (live RTÉ/S4C)