Four Connacht players in Ireland squad

17 August 2017

Four Connacht players in Ireland squad
Ireland Women's Rugby Squad Training, UCD, Dublin 15/8/2017
Claire Molloy
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The Ireland Women's team to face France in the final pool game of the Women's Rugby World Cup 2017 has been confirmed with four Connacht players included.

The game takes place in the UCD Bowl tonight at 7.45pm. Captain Claire Molloy and winger Alison Miller are the two Connacht starters with Ciara O'Connor and Ruth O'Reilly among the replacements.

Head Coach Tom Tierney has named Lindsay Peat, Leah Lyons and Ailis Egan in the front row.

Marie-Louise Reilly and Sophie Spence will line out in the second-row, with Ciara Griffin, Paula Fitzpatrick and captain Molloy in the back-row.

Nicole Cronin again partners out-half Nora Stapleton at half-back, with Sene Naoupu and Jenny Murphy forming the centre partnership.

Alison Miller and Eimear Considine line out on the wings, with Hannah Tyrrell at full-back.

Ahead of the French test, Tierney said:

"We've had lots of tough games against France over the years and we know tomorrow evening is going to be no different.

“They have looked really good in their opening two games of the tournament and they'll be coming into this game full of confidence.

“It's a cup final tomorrow night, with a place in the semi-finals up for grabs, so we want the players to go out there and give it everything.

“It won't be easy, but with the crowd behind them, they have the ability to claim a place in the final four.”

The game will be broadcast on television in the Republic of Ireland by Eir Sport and RTE and in the UK by ITV 4.

RTE 2fm will have live commentary on radio.

Ireland Women's Team to play France

15 Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

14 Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

13 Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

12 Sene Naoupu (Harlequins FC)

11 Alison Miller (Old Belvedere RFC/Connacht)

10 Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

9 Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

1 Lindsay Peat (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

2 Leah Lyons (Highfield RFC/Munster)

3 Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

4 Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

5 Marie-Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

6 Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

7 Claire Molloy (Bristol RFC/Connacht) Captain

8 Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary's College RFC/Leinster)


16 Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

17 Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)

18 Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)

19 Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke RFC/Ulster)

20 Heather O'Brien (Highfield RFC/Munster)

21 Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

22 Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

23 Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Ireland Women's Rugby World Cup Fixtures and Results – Pool C

Ireland 19 - 17 Australia

Ireland 24 - 14 Japan

Thursday 17th August, 7.45pm, UCD Bowl

France v Ireland

For more information on the Women's Rugby World Cup 2017, please visit