Galwegians Squeeze Past Monivea In U15 Cup Final

30 April 2017

Galwegians Squeeze Past Monivea In U15 Cup Final
Connacht U15 Cup Final

Monivea 12-15 Galwegians

Galwegians claimed the Connacht U15 Cup thanks to a narrow final win over Monivea after a nail-biting finish at the Sportsground on Sunday.

Galwegians made a superb start and scored the first try on eight minutes as Edward Shekete crossed in the right corner after a well-executed rolling maul off a lineout.

Out-half Jack Beatty added the conversion with aplomb and Wegians led 7-0.

Monivea nearly hit back shortly afterwards as Thomas Feeney showed electric pace to break clear up the right flank but full-back MacDara O’Griofa made a strong tackle to halt the attack.

Centre Shea Hennessy then came close for Monivea after a slaloming run through the heart of the Galwegians defence but a last-ditch tackle saved the city side as they led 7-0 at the interval.

Having showed their defensive qualities at the end of that first half, Galwegians showed their attacking prowess at the start of the second as Patrick Keane crossed in the right corner after a well-worked move off a scrum.

That score jolted Monivea back to life and they responded through an excellent Killian Berthoz try after an extended spell of pressure as the winger danced through the defence after a quick tap.

Evan Connolly was unlucky to see his conversion come back off the post but Monivea were now within seven.

A strong break by Shekete saw Galwegians back in the ascendancy with a high tackle resulting in a penalty and Beatty made no mistake with his first three-pointer to make it 15-5.

Monivea came roaring back one again, however, with Hennessy showing great strength and speed to touch down in the right corner. Connolly superbly landed the touchline conversion to reduce the deficit to just three points.

Monivea pushed for the winning score as the clock ticked down and a superb George Hill tackle saved Galwegians’ bacon late on as he stopped Hennessy yards short of the line with the final whistle sounding shortly after as Galwegians claimed the cup.

Monivea: Conor McElwee; Thomas Feeney, Ruairi Collins, Shea Hennessy, Killian Berthoz; Evan Connolly, Kelvin Langan; Robert Noone, Darragh Carty, Patrick Freeney; Shane Regan, Cormac Feeney; Jack Dowling, David Briggs (C), Eoin Lawless.

Replacements: Cormac Hynes, Jack Waldron, Cathal Flanagan, Luke Spelman, Lee Flaherty, Aaron Molloy, Conor Fahy, Harry Greaney, David Daniels, Michael Mullins, Adam Johnston.

Galwegians: MacDara O’Griofa; Patrick Keane, Luke Kelly, Zakar Rather, Cian Clancy; Jack Beatty, Daragh Creighton; Liam Togher Griffin, Conor Joyce, Gary Lally (C); Edward Shekete, Hugh Duffy; Ben Kelly, Garvin Surlis, George Hill.

Replacements: Ben Hornibrook, Joe Agbo, Oliver Kelly, Henri Bartolozzi, Conor Jackson, Ciaran O’Flaitheartha, Gabriel Herescu, Tom Kelly.