Holders Jes Into Top Oil Schools Cup Final

02 March 2017

Holders Jes Into Top Oil Schools Cup Final

Coláiste Iognáid (The Jes) 29-7 Sligo Grammar

Top Oil Connacht Schools Senior Cup holders Coláiste Iognáid (The Jes) overcame Sligo Grammar in the Newcastle rain this afternoon to secure their place in the final against Summerhill College.

The decider will be played at the Sportsground on Wednesday, March 15.

It was an outstanding display from The Jes as they ran in five tries against a Grammar side that fought to the bitter end on a very chilly Galway afternoon.

A dominant first half saw The Jes lead 17-0 at the break and although Sligo Grammar fought back strongly after the interval, they never looked like denying a very well-drilled Coláiste Iognáid.

Jes captain and out-half Diarmuid Codyre made a good start with his pack on the front foot and his side hit the front through a try from replacement Conor Briscoe in the right corner on 15 minutes.

It was no surprise when The Jes touched down again on 28 minutes as centre Tomás Forde crossed with Codyre converting and a third try from Jake Gallagher before the break after some excellent hands made it 17-0 at the interval.

Summerhill were much improved after the break with Kuba Wojtkowicz and Brian West prominent but Coláiste Iognáid proved too strong with Briscoe and Forde adding further tries in the second half. A late intercept try for Grammar captain Niall Gray, converted himself, was just rewards for their efforts but the Sligo school bow out at the semi-final stage with their heads held high.

Coláiste Iognáid (The Jes): Adam Cunningham; Cillian McCabe, Tomás Forde, Eamon Kelly, David Molloy; Diarmuid Codyre (C), Eavan Kenny; Adam Corbett, Conall Fallon, Gary Keane; Diorai O’Connor, Aaron Mannion; Jake Gallagher, Cathal McGuiness, Hugh Keaveney.

Replacements: Sean Monaghan, Cian Parsons, Thomas Power, Michael Higgins, Ciaran Anthony, Ruadhan Durkin, Conor Briscoe, Gareth Kenny.

Sligo Grammar: Philip Carter; Cian Whiteside, Graham Kerr, Sam Donaghy, Eoin McCormack; Niall Gray (C), Oisín Rouxel; Billy Dolan-Geary, Oisín Staunton, Kuba Wojtkowicz; Peadair Fraser-Murphy, Alex Walker; Michael Kilcoyne, Brian West, Jason Lawson-Kearns.

Replacements: Jude Perry, Lukas Del Valle, Ben Armstrong, Michael Archer, Josh Conway, James McDonough, Seamus Blackwell, Eoghan Donoghue.