Ireland U-18 Sevens Squads Selected

12 July 2023

Ireland U-18 Sevens Squads Selected

The Ireland Under-18 Men’s and Women’s Sevens squads have been named for this weekend’s Rugby Europe Under-18 Sevens Championship action.


The U-18 Men’s Sevens Championship takes place in Macolin, Switzerland, while the U-18 Women’s tournament is being staged in Prague, the capital of the Czech Republic.


Ireland Under-18 Men’s Sevens head coach Kieran Hurrell has selected a 12-player squad following a series of weekend training camps at the IRFU High Performance Centre, with Gene O’Leary Kareem captaining the side. Connacht's Orin Burke (Monivea RFC) has been chosen for the squad.


Five of the travelling party are members of the National Talent Squad (NTS). They get their European campaign underway against hosts Switzerland on Saturday (kick-off 9.44am Irish time), before further pool matches against Germany (12.44pm Irish time) and Czechia (3.28pm Irish time).


The Ireland U-18 Women’s Sevens squad, meanwhile, travel to Prague. They are coached by former Ireland 15s and Sevens international Katie Fitzhenry. Connacht's Emily Foley (Ballina RFC), Hannah Clarke (Tuam/Oughterard RFC), and Molly Boote (Connemara RFC) have been chosen for the squad. 


The Ireland Under-18 Women face Poland in their opening match on Saturday (kick-off 8.44am Irish time), before going head-to-head with England (1.28pm Irish time).


You can see the full team lists here. All of the fixtures, results and pool tables can be found on the Rugby Europe website (Men’s here and Women’s here), while a live stream will be available via Rugby Europe TV here.