Ireland U20s pair Devine and Gavin at 12 and 13

27 June 2023

Ireland U20s pair Devine and Gavin at 12 and 13

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Ireland U20s Match Day Squad for Thursday’s World Rugby U20 Championship game against Australia in Paarl, South Africa (Kick-off 11am local time/10am Irish time).

There are four changes to the Ireland starting team from Saturday’s opening Pool B draw with England, as James Nicholson, Ronan Foxe, Charlie Irvine and Brian Gleeson come into the XV.

Nicholson is named on the left wing as part of the Ireland back three with Henry McErlean and Andrew Osborne, with Hugh Gavin and John Devine forming the midfield partnership. Sam Prendergast and Fintan Gunne continue in the half-backs.

In the pack, Paddy McCarthy moves across the front row to loosehead prop, with captain Gus McCarthy at hooker and Foxe in line for his U20s debut at tighthead. Irvine comes into the side to partner Conor O’Tighearnaigh in the engine room, while James McNabney, Ruadhan Quinn and Gleeson make up the back row.

On the bench, Danny Sheahan, George Morris, Fiachna Barrett, Evan O’Connell and Diarmuid Mangan provide the forward options, with scrum-half Jack Oliver set to win his first U20s cap. Harry West and Rory Telfer complete the Match Day Squad.

Speaking ahead of the match, Murphy said: “It has been a quick turnaround from Saturday but we were able to turn the page positively, and learn from our first outing of the tournament. We know the very nature of this World Rugby U20 Championship is that the big games come thick and fast and facing the Junior Wallabies is another huge test for our group. We’re looking forward to the challenge.”

Thursday’s match is live on Virgin Media Two in Republic of Ireland and on World Rugby platforms where there is no local broadcaster.

Ireland U20s (v Australia, U20 World Championship, Thursday, June 29):

15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. Andrew Osborne (Naas/Leinster)
13. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. James Nicholson (UCD/Leinster)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster)

1. Paddy McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Ronan Foxe (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*
4. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University/Ulster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster)
7. Ruadhan Quinn (Old Crescent/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
19. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
20. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
21. Jack Oliver (Garryowen/Munster)
22. Harry West (Buccaneers/Connacht)
23. Rory Telfer (Queen’s University/Ulster).

*Denotes uncapped at U20 level