Layden included in Ireland Men's 7s Squad

03 June 2015

Layden included in Ireland Men's 7s Squad
The Ireland Men's Sevens Squad to take part in Rugby Europe Men's Division C tournament in Bosnia this weekend has been named. Connacht's Shane Layden has been named in the squad.

Ireland are placed in pool B alongside Turkey, Belarus and Montenegro. Leinster Academy player Tom Daly has been named as Captain of the side.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens said "The panel has progressed in a short space of time. It is our ambition to be a part of the Sevens World Series by the end of 2017 whilst also having an outside chance for Olympic qualification in Rio in 2016.”

The Wolfhounds played their first tournament last week and came forth overall. We hope to build on that result this week in the Europeans. It's going to be tough, but we feel we're really going to progress as the season goes on as these players develop their ability to play international rugby at this level.”

The top four teams from this tournament will be promoted to Division B and compete in Croatia on 20 -21 June.

The highest ranked eligible team from Division B qualifies to participate in the Rugby Europe Olympic Repechage Tournament which will take place in Lisbon on the 18-19 July.

The winner of the Lisbon tournament will then have the opportunity to compete in the World Olympic Repechage in 2016 to secure the last spot for Rio 2016.

Ireland Men's Sevens Squad (Rugby Europe Men's Division C, Stadion Kamberovic Polie, Bosnia, 6 -7 June.)
1. Shane Layden (Buccaneers/ Connacht)
2. Gearoid Lyons (Young Munster/ Munster)
3. Diarmuid McCarthy (Young Munster/Munster)
4. Adam Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
5. Aaron Cairns (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
6. Tom Daly (Lansdowne/ Leinster) Capt.
7. David McGuigan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
8. Harry McNulty (UCD/Leinster)
9. Cian Aherne (Lansdowne /Leinster)
10. Mark Roche (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
11. Alex Wootton (Garryowen/Munster)
12. Michael Lawton (Exiles)

Rugby Europe Men's Division C Match Schedule
Saturday 6th June
10.22 Turkey v Ireland
14.28 Belarus v Ireland
16.22 Montenegro v Ireland

Sunday 7th June

The Ireland Wolfhound's Seven's squad to play in the second round of the GB 7's tournament in Coventry, England has also been named.

The Irish side will play in pool B alongside Co-Optimist RC, England IPF and Forces Exiles.

Ireland Wolfhounds Seven's Squad (GB7s 2 Broadstreet RFC, Coventry, Saturday 6th June)
Matthew D'Arcy (St. Marys/Leinster)
Ian Fitzpatrick (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster/Munster)
Eoghan Grace (Exiles)
Foster Horan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dave Moore (Blackrock /Leinster)
Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/ Leinster)
Matthew O'Regan (Exiles)
Luke O'Dea (Shannon/ Munster)
Steve Toal-Lennon (St Marys/ Leinster)
Alan Bennie (Clanwilliam /Munster)
Ciaran Wardle (Exiles)
Terry Kennedy (St Mary's/ Leinster)
Alex Kane (Exiles)

2015 GB7s TOUR Stage 2 Match Schedule

11.09 Ireland Wolfhounds v Forces Exiles
12.42 Ireland Wolfhounds v England IPF
13.54 Co-Optmist v Ireland Wolfhounds