Leinster U19s too strong for Connacht U19s

28 August 2023

Leinster U19s too strong for Connacht U19s

It was a tough day for the Connacht U19s against Leinster at Energia Park, the home side winning 50-5.

Adam Grigg’s Leinster struck for eight tries in the U19 Interprovincial Championship at Energia Park on Sunday.

The first try of the game came from Conor Fahy after nice play by Jack Angulo and Mahon Ronan in the build up.

They were soon back in command of the ball again, Billy Corrigan’s pull-back pass key to releasing Paddy Taylor for the second try, converted by Sam Wisniewski in the eighth minute.

Connacht had to do something to make the home side think about defence and centre Stefan Roche showed considerable strength in breaking tackles for a try.

It is incredible the difference a score can make and it could have been even better were it not for vigilant Leinster defence.

A period punctuated by mistakes led to a stalemate around the middle of the pitch until Paidi Farrell sparked a coherent attack.

The dancing feet of Todd Lawlor and a drive by Aaron O’Brien allowed Niall Smyth to punch in the third try, converted by Wisniewski for 19-5 in the 29th minute.

Then, the Leinster maul moved with menace for fully 20 metres. The backpedalling defence was powerless to prevent Taylor and Lawlor from threading the passes for Ciaran Mangan to claim his try for 24-5 at the half.

The Connacht centres Cian Brady and Roche were a handful on the ball, the latter bursting out of defence and almost connecting with full-back Orin Burke.

The maul was a weapon Leinster went back to the next time they were inside the 22 and Jack Angulo was the man in the van for the fifth try in the 43rd minute.

Paidi Farrell’s eagerness to get on the ball was infectious and the left wing nearly got on the end of a Fahy kick into the 22.

A loose kick out of defence was punished when Andy Cosgrave opted to keep the ball in hand, the search for space concluding with Farrell sending Fahy in for his second, converted by Casper Gabriel for 36-5 in the 59th minute.

It looked like Fahy was on his way to a hat-trick only for some last-ditch defence to scupper it. But, Tom Murtagh was on the premises to pick up the try, converted by Gabriel.

Gabriel was no slouch on the run either, setting up Paddy Taylor for eight and final try to cap an impressive performance.


Leinster: C Fahy 2 tries; C Mangan, P Taylor, N Smyth, J Angulo, T Murtagh try each; C Gabriel 3 cons S Wisniewski 2 cons.

Connacht: S Roche try.

15. Orin Burke (Monivea RFC/Presentation College Athenry)
14. Harry Duffy (Galwegians RFC/Yeats College)
13. Stefan Roche (Sligo RFC/Summerhill College)
12. Cian Brady (Monivea RFC/Colaiste an Eachreidh)
11. Gerard Murtagh (Sligo RFC/Sligo Grammar) / Sean Power 59 mins (Ballinasloe RFC/Garbally College)
10. Oisin O’Neill (Sligo RFC/Summerhill College) / Caden Grant 59 mins (Corinthians RFC/St. Joseph's Patrician College)
9. Tomas Farthing (Corinthians RFC/Colaiste Chroí Mhuire) / Conall Gill 50 mins (Westport RFC/Rice College)
1. Sean Hopkins (Ballina RFC/St.Muredachs College) / Arann Platt 46 mins (Sligo RFC/Sligo Grammar)
2. Ryan Smith (Corrib RFC/Presentation College Headford) / Sean Rohan 59 mins (Buccaeneers RFC/CBS Roscommon)
3. Finian Murray (Monivea RFC/ Holy Rosary College) / George Ukwuoma 46 mins (Galwegians RFC)
4. Charlie Coghlan (Clontarf RFC/Belvedere College)
5. Bryan Walsh (Corinthians RFC / Colaiste Einde) / Blayze Molloy 55 mins (Ballina RFC/Clongowes Wood College)
6. Patrick Flannery (Capt) (Corinthians RFC/Colaiste Chroí Mhuire)
7. Max Flynn (Corinthians RFC/Cistercian College Roscrea) / Niall Tallon 55 mins (Buccaneers RFC/Marist College)
8. Bobby Power (Galwgians RFC/Colaiste Iognaid)

15. Todd Lawlor (Newbridge College) / Andrew Cosgrave (St Michael’s College) ht
14. Ciaran Mangan (Newbridge College/Naas RFC)
13. Connor Fahy (Good Counsel College/Wexford Wanderers RFC)
12. Paddy Taylor (Newbridge College)
11. Paidi Farrell (St Marys Edenderry/Tullamore RFC)
10. Sam Wisniewski (Castleknock College) / Caspar Gabriel (Terenure College) 46 mins
9. Andrew Doyle (Ardscoil na Trionoide/Athy RFC) / Tom Murtagh (Clongowes Wood College)
59 mins
1. Alex Usanov (Belvedere College) / James Wyse (Clongowes Wood College) 50 mins
2. Tom Stewart (St Michael’s College/Greystones RFC, Capt) / Rian Handley (Wesley College) 50 mins
3. Niall Smyth (Blackrock College) / Adam Watchorn (Kilkenny College/Carlow RFC)
50 mins
4. Mahon Ronan (Boyne RFC) / Ruari Munnelly (Newbridge College/Clane RFC) 59 mins
5. Billy Corrigan (Presentation College Bray)
6. Tommy Butler (Blackrock College)
7. Jack Angulo (Blackrock College) / Sam Corrigan (St. Michael’s College) 59 mins
8. Aaron O’Brien (St. Mary’s College)