Marmion & Ah You included for Georgia test

14 November 2014

Marmion & Ah You included for Georgia test
The Ireland Coaching team have named the side to face Georgia in the second Test of the 2014 Guinness Series and Connacht’s Kieran Marmion and Rodney Ah You have both been included on the bench. The pair are in line to each receive their third international cap at the Aviva Stadium on Sunday.

Back-row Dominic Ryan and second-row Dave Foley are set to make their first international appearances.

Robin Copeland could also win his first cap off the bench on Sunday when the team will be captained Eoin Reddan on his 57th cap.

An all action back-three features Felix Jones, Simon Zebo and Craig Gilroy with Gordon D'Arcy and Darren Cave partnered in the centre.  Ian Madigan is selected at out-half to play alongside his provincial club partner Eoin Reddan.

In the pack, Mike Ross is retained at tight-head and is joined in the front row by Richardt Strauss and Dave Kilcoyne.  The second row is made up of debutante Dave Foley and Mike McCarthy while the backrow sees new cap Dominic Ryan at 6, Tommy O'Donnell at 7 and Robbie Diack at No.8.

There is experience on the bench in the form of Devin Toner and Sean Cronin while Rodney Ah You and Jack McGrath may get another opportunity to impress.  Robin Copeland is an exciting uncapped addition to the bench while Kieran Marmion, Ian Keatley and Stuart Olding will all be looking to make an impact on the game.


IRELAND vs Georgia, Sunday 17th November, 2014

15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) 7

14. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) 5

13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 7

12. Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 79

11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 9

10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster) 11

9. Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 56 CAPTAIN


8. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster) 1

7. Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 5

6. Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster) *

5. Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 16

4. Dave Foley (UL Bohemians/Munster) *

3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster) 42

2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster) 5

1. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 11



16. Sean Cronin (St Mary's College/Leinster) 36

17. Jack McGrath (St Mary's College/Leinster) 11

18. Rodney Ah You (Buccaneers/Connacht) 2

19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18

20. Robin Copeland (Young Munster/Munster) *

21. Kieran Marmion (Galwegians/Connacht) 2

22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 2

23. Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 1


*Denotes uncapped player