Marmion & Henshaw in Ireland Training Squad

24 June 2015

Marmion & Henshaw in Ireland Training Squad
The Ireland National Coaching Team have named a 45 man Training Squad that includes Connacht backs Robbie Henshaw and Kieran Marmion.   The squad will commence preparations at the end of June and will play in a four Test match Guinness Summer Series across August and September.   Paul O'Connell has been named captain of the squad

The Ireland national team will host three Open Sessions during its World Cup training schedule, the first will take place at the Sportsground, Galway on Tuesday 14th July, the second will take place in Cork on Wednesday 29th July and the final Open Session will take place in the RDS, Dublin on Tuesday 8th September.  Details on how to access tickets for the open sessions will be published shortly.

Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt, commented, "The squad selection has been a long process with some very tight decisions. Some injured players who are getting close to full fitness have been included while others have missed out due to prolonged absence or lack of opportunity to demonstrate their full Test Match readiness."

"Rhys Ruddock would have been selected but has been ruled him out after fracturing his arm against Uruguay last week."

The 2015 Guinness Summer Series will see Ireland take on Wales in Cardiff on Saturday 8th August before hosting Scotland a week later at the Aviva Stadium.  On Saturday 29th August, Wales come to the Aviva Stadium with the final game of the series taking place in Twickenham against England on Saturday 5th September.  Tickets for the two home games of the Guinness Summer Series are available from

IRELAND Training Squad

Forwards (23)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Michael Bent (Dublin University/Leinster)

Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)*

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)*

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)

Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)


Backs (22)

Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster)

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)

*Denotes uncapped player





Millennium Stadium

Saturday 8th August, 2015

KO: 14:30


IRELAND v Scotland

Aviva Stadium

Saturday 15th August, 2015

KO: 17:00



Aviva Stadium

Saturday 29th August, 2015

KO: 14:30


England v IRELAND

Twickenham Stadium

Saturday 5th September, 2015

KO: 14:30