Marmion in Ireland squad for Wales clash

08 March 2017

Marmion in Ireland squad for Wales clash
The Ireland coaching group have announced the match day 23 that will face Wales at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Friday night with Connacht’s Kieran Marmion among the replacements.

Captain Rory Best is again joined in the front row by Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong with Donnacha Ryan and Devin Toner retained in the second row.

Jamie Heaslip, Sean O'Brien and CJ Stander fill the backrow slots while Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton line out at scrum-half and out-half respectively.  Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose are named as the centre partnership with fullback Rob Kearney flanked by Keith Earls and Simon Zebo on the wings.

The replacements named for the game in Cardiff are Niall Scannell, Cian Healy, John Ryan, Iain Henderson, Peter O'Mahony, Marmion, Paddy Jackson and Tommy Bowe.

Ireland team to play Wales – Friday 10th March, 2017, Principality Stadium , Cardiff, Wales

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 75 caps

14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 57 caps

13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps

12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 27 caps

11. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 31 caps

10. Jonathan Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster) 64 caps

9.  Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 56 caps

8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) 94 caps

7. Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster) 47 caps

6. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 13 caps

5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 45 caps

4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster) 45 caps

3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 14 caps

2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 102 caps (Captain)

1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary's/Leinster) 39 caps



16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 2 caps

17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 65 caps

18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 4 caps

19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 30 caps

20. Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 38 caps

21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps

22. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 22 caps

23. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 68 caps