Muredach's Capture Senior Development Title

16 March 2017

Muredach's Capture Senior Development Title
Senior Development Cup Final

Presentation College Headford 10-23 St Muredach's College Ballina

St Muredach’s College Ballina clinched the Top Oil Connacht Schools Senior Development Cup after a 23-10 win over Presentation College Headford at the Sportsground yesterday.

It was a fiercely contested battle as Muredach’s led 12-3 at the break thanks to tries from Brian Boland and Joe Gaughan.

Headford touched down through an outstanding Gary Collumb individual effort after the interval but Muredach’s finished strongly and two Oliver Feeney penalties, along with a late Billy McVann try, secured the title.

It was a no-holds-barred clash with both teams putting everything they had into the game and both teams were exhausted at the end of the 70 minutes.

The game was the final clash of a triple-header at the Sportsground with the Senior and Junior Cup finals taking place earlier in the day with another triple-header taking place next Wednesday.

The decision to expand schools rugby in Connacht has paid huge dividends as playing numbers continue to increase across the province. There are now six competitions for schools of all levels in place with the main Junior and Senior Cups supplemented by the Emerging and Development competitions.

Presentation College Headford: Gary Collumb; Jamie Toher, Carrick Roberts, Jack Walsh, Leon Riley; Niall Egan, Evan Mohan; Mark Conway, Mark Jennings (C), Ronan Ipek; Colin O’Reilly, Ronan Walsh; Daragh Morrin, Evan McHugh, Cathal Roddy.

Replacements: Cillian Costello, John Flood, Dara Nee, Jakob Knight, Eoghan Halloran, David Quinn, Micheal O’Loughlin, Jake Hennigan, Donny Murphy, Gavin O’Laoi, Thomas Newell.

St Muredach’s College Ballina: Oisin Smyth Rouse; Michael Collins, Michael Cribben, Fergus McDermott Quinn, Joe Gaughan; Oliver Feeny, Niall Keane (C); Gerard McKenna, Billy McVann, Brian Boland; Jason Moyles, Conor Boyce, Odhrann Quinn, Sean Treacy, Chris Healy.

Replacements: Jake Devaney, Enda Keenan, Davis Purins, Xavier Belda, Matthew Cribben, Ronan Connolly, Mark Walker.