Nominees announced for 2018/19 Connacht Rugby Awards

03 April 2019

Nominees announced for 2018/19 Connacht Rugby Awards
Connacht Rugby are delighted to announce the nominees for the 2018/19 Connacht Rugby Awards.
The awards take place at the Salthill Hotel on Saturday April 13th and will recognise the achievements of players, clubs, coaches and referees across a wide range of grades in the province.
In all there are 17 awards to be presented on the night which are listed below alongside the nominees for each category. As always there are a number of awards where you get to have a say, and this year they are the Fan's Player of the Year and the Try of the Season awards - both of which you can vote on in the coming days.
We are also delighted to announce the recipients of two special awards. The Connacht Unsung Hero Award will be presented to Derek Niland, Mark Deegan and Jack Nohily for their sterling work at facilitating the inclusion rugby mornings at Corinthians RFC every Saturday morning. Meanwhile the Lifetime Contribution to Rugby Award will be presented to Dr. Anthony Browne for his contribution to rugby in Connacht stretching over 50 years as a player, coach and administrator.
Please note the Connacht Rugby Awards is a SOLD OUT event. To those lucky enough to grab a ticket, we look forward to joining you on a night of celebration on Saturday week!
U18 Player of the Year
Darragh Murray - Buccaneers / Colaiste Ciarain Athlone
Oisin McCormack - Ballinasloe / Colaiste Joseph
Donnacha Byrne - Sligo / Summerhill College
U19 Player of the Year
Diarmuid Kilcommins - Corinthians / Colaiste Ballyclair
Lucas Culliton - CC Roscrea
Diarmuid Kilgallen - CC Roscrea
U18 Girls Player of the Year
Aoibheann Reilly - Ballinasloe / Ard Scoil Mhuire
Beibhinn Parsons - Ballinasloe / Ard Scoil Mhuire
Lily Brady - Westport / Sacred Heart
Moment of the Season
Beibhinn Parson's international debut
Mikey Kerin joins the ARCB
CBS Roscommon's Schools Rugby breakthrough
Unsung Hero Award
RECIPIENTS: Derek Niland, Mark Deegan and Jack Nohilly
Referee of the Year
Dhani McGuire
Jason Cairns
Peter Gaughan
Coach of the Year
Dave Newman & JP Leonard - Ballina
Mike Devine & Kevin Tierney - Garbally College
Bernard Keaney & Henry O'Toole - Connemara
Women's Club Player of the Year
Denise Redmond - Galwegians
Emma Fabby - Westport
Julie Lyons - NUIG
Women's Player of the Year
Jill Draper - Tullamore
Edel McMahon - Galwegians
Orla Dixon - Galwegians
Junior Player of the Year
Henry O'Toole - Connemara
Eric Flynn - Corrib
Brian Diffley - Creggs
Senior Club Player of the Year
Ryan Feehily - Sligo
Michael O'Reilly - Corinthians
Calum Quinn - Ballina
Club of the Year
Creggs RFC
Ballina RFC
Sligo RFC
Academy Player of the Year
Colm de Buitléar
Matthew Burke
Conor Fitzgerald
Try of the Season
Tiernan O'Halloran v Ulster (5/10/18)
Jack Carty v Leinster (22/12/18)
Tiernan O'Halloran v Bordeaux (19/1/19)
Supporters' Player of the Year
Caolin Blade
Jack Carty
Tom Farrell
Players' Player of the Year
Jarrad Butler
Jack Carty
Colby Fainga'a
Lifetime Contribution to Rugby
RECIPIENT: Dr. Anthony Browne