Seven changes for trip to Edinburgh

06 April 2017

Seven changes for trip to Edinburgh
The Connacht side has been named for tomorrow night’s clash against Edinburgh at Myreside (7.35pm, live on TG4).

There are seven changes to the team beaten in Zebre last weekend with Ireland internationals Tiernan O’Halloran and Kieran Marmion among the players to be drafted into the starting XV.

Set to make his 100th PRO12 appearance, O’Halloran has been among the top full-backs in the competition again this season with the most metres gained and more carries than any other player.

With five personnel changes in the backline, Marmion starts at scrum-half and Niyi Adeolokun, having shaken off a niggle, also returns on the right ring. Danie Poolman switches to the left flank while Steve Crosbie makes his second start for the province at out-half. After making his return from injury off the bench last week, Eoin Griffin is handed a starting place and will partner Bundee Aki in the centres.

There is one change to the front row as Dominic Robertson-McCoy replaces Finlay Bealham with Denis Buckley and Tom McCartney retaining their places.

Quinn Roux and Andrew Browne remain in situ in the second row with Eoin McKeon moving to blindside flanker as Jake Heenan has recovered from a minor shin injury to start at openside flanker. Captain John Muldoon continues at no.8.

Shane Delahunt, JP Cooney and Bealham provide the front row cover with James Cannon, Sean O’Brien, Caolin Blade, Jack Carty and Josh Rowland completing the replacements.

Ahead of the clash, head coach Pat Lam said: “This is our third away game in a row and after last week’s game in Italy, we have an opportunity to produce a performance we can be proud of.

“Although we have been creating numerous opportunities to score, it is all about making sure we take those chances tomorrow night.

“Edinburgh are always tough, physical opposition and we are looking forward to a big challenge on our first visit to Myreside.”

View match preview and the latest squad update here.

Book your Early Bird Season Tickets for the 2017/18 season here.

Connacht team to face Edinburgh

Friday, April 7, kick off 7.35pm, Myreside

(Connacht caps in brackets)

15           Tiernan O’Halloran (123)

14           Niyi Adeolokun (54)

13           Eoin Griffin (75)

12           Bundee Aki (57)

11           Danie Poolman (81)

10           Steve Crosbie (2)

9           Kieran Marmion (117)

1           Denis Buckley (114)

2           Tom McCartney (61)

3           Dominic Robertson-McCoy (7)

4           Quinn Roux (53)

5           Andrew Browne (151)

6           Eoin McKeon (103)

7           Jake Heenan (50)

8           John Muldoon (298) (captain)



16           Shane Delahunt (24)

17           JP Cooney (46)

18           Finlay Bealham (78)

19           James Cannon (14)

20           Sean O’Brien (36)

21           Caolin Blade (41)

22           Jack Carty (77)

23           Josh Rowland (2)

Injured/unavailable:  Ronan Loughney, Conor Carey, Ultan Dillane, Nepia Fox-Matamua, James Connolly, Marnitz Boshoff, Peter Robb, Matt Healy, Cian Kelleher, Darragh Leader, Stacey Ili.

Match Officials

Referee: Dan Jones (WRU, 7th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Sean Brickell (WRU), Lloyd Linton (SRU)
Citing Commissioner: Douglas Hunter (SRU)
TMO: Alan Falzone (FIR)