Three Connacht players in matchday 23 for Ireland clash with Aussies

07 June 2018

Three Connacht players in matchday 23 for Ireland clash with Aussies
Connacht's Ireland contingent are all set to feature in Ireland's first test with Australia this Saturday.

Head coach Joe Schmidt has named his squad overnight, with Bundee Aki starting in the centre and Kieran Marmion and Quinn Roux ready to make an impact off the bench.

n the absence through injury of Rory Best, Peter O'Mahony will captain the team. O'Mahony first led Ireland on the summer tour to USA and Canada back in 2013. He is joined in the backrow by Jordi Murphy at openside and CJ Stander at No.8.

James Ryan and Iain Henderson partner up in the second row. IN the front row Rob Herring wins his 4th cap at hooker packing down alongside Jack McGrath and John Ryan in a new look front row.

Rob Kearney is named at fullback and is joined in the back three by Jacob Stockdale and Keith Earls.

Robbie Henshaw returns to team and is reunited with Bundee Aki in the centre. Joey Carbery is named at outhalf with Conor Murray as his half-back partner.

The replacements named are Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Johnny Sexton and Jordan Larmour.

The games will be broadcast live on Sky Sports (TV) and RTE 2FM (Radio). Supporters can follow all the news from the summer tour via the IRFU's website and social media channels.

Ireland Team & Replacements (v Australia, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Saturday June 9, 8pm Aus/11am IRL)

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 83 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 67 caps
13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 33 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 7 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 9 caps
10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 10 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 64 caps
1. Jack McGrath (St Mary's College/Leinster) 47 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 3 caps
3. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 13 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
5. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 38 caps
6. Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 47 caps capt
7. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 20 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 23 caps

16. Sean Cronin (St Mary's College/Leinster) 61 caps
17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 78 caps
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 23 caps
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 5 caps
20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 7 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 21 caps
22. Johnny Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster) 73 caps
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary's College/Leinster) 3 caps