Three Connnacht men in Ireland's Match Day 23 to take on Wales

22 February 2018

Three Connnacht men in Ireland's Match Day 23 to take on Wales
Bundee Aki has been named to start in the centre against Wales in the Six Nations on Saturday, while Quinn Roux and Kieran Marmion have been named among the replacements

Andrew Porter has been named to start his first Six Nations Championship match. Porter, who came on for the injured Tadhg Furlong in the Italy game, is named alongside Cian Healy and captain Rory Best - who becomes Ireland's third most capped player on 109 caps.

James Ryan is named in the second row with Devin Toner while Peter O'Mahony, Dan Leavy and CJ Stander form the back row trio.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are the halfbacks while Chris Farrell, making his tournament debut, comes in at centre for the injured Robbie Henshaw alongside Bundee Aki.


Farrell won his first two Ireland caps in the Guinness Series against Fiji and Argentina. This is his first appearance in the NatWest 6 Nations.

Rob Kearney is at fullback in an unchanged back three with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

The replacements are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion, Joey Carbery and Fergus McFadden.


Ireland Team & Replacements (v Wales, NatWest 6 Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, February 24, 2.15)

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 80 caps
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 64 caps
13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 2 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 6 caps
10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster) 70 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 61 caps

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 75 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 108 caps
3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps
4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 55 caps
6. Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 44 caps
7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 20 caps

16. Sean Cronin (St Mary's College/Leinster) 58 caps
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary's College/Leinster) 44 caps
18. John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 12 caps
19. Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht) 4 caps
20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 6 caps
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 19 caps
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 7 caps
23. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 33 caps