U18 Girls Squad vs Leinster Rugby Announced

01 September 2023

U18 Girls Squad vs Leinster Rugby Announced

The Connacht U18 Girls take on Leinster in their third, and final, Interpro of the season this Saturday, 2nd September at Corinthians RFC (2:00 PM k/o). Our underage teams are sponsored by Atlantic Techological University (ATU).

Last week the Connacht U18 Girls played their first home game and with the crowd behind them, they came away with a score of 42-12 giving them a two win record. This Saturday, they welcome Leinster (also with a two win record) to Connacht for their final game of this round. 
"We've all worked incredibly hard over the summer on basics and strategies, upskilling the players and finessing the huge array of strengths they brought with them from their own clubs. It was all with a goal to be in charge of our own destiny in round 3 and the girls have done that with aplomb. So with half an eye on February's playoffs of course, Saturday at least gives Leinster and Connacht an opportunity to test their mettle against another unbeaten side. A great finish to the first half of the competition," says Luke O'Donnell, Defence Coach.
The team would appreciate support from clubs, families and friends this Saturday at Corinthians RFC - getting that good Connacht atmosphere in Corinthians on Saturday will only make the experience more special.
"Everyone is so proud of this group of players; for such a young group, the pride they have in representing their clubs and province is evident. Some of these girls did not make the U18 panel last February and now they are on the starting squad, so that determination and eagerness to improve has stood to them. We would hope that those who may not have made it this summer will have the same determination to make next February's squad for the semi-finals & finals," says Manager Natalie Fox.

Saturday 2nd September, 2:00 @ Corinthians RFC

15. Aoife Heaney (Claremorris RFC)
14. Emily Foley (Ballina RFC)
13. Ailbhe Gannon (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
12. Sarah Purcell (Creggs RFC) Captain
11. Saoirse Lawley (Sligo RFC)
10. Siofra Hession (Creggs RFC)
9. Grainne Moran (Ballina RFC)
1. Louise Seoige (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
2. Uillin Eilian (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
3. Ella Burns (Tuam/Oughterard RFC)
4. Catherine Fleming (Ballinasloe RFC)
5. Jemima Adams Verling (Creggs RFC)
6. Merisa Kiripati (Creggs RFC)
7. Ailish Quinn (Ballina RFC) Vice Captain
8. Róisín Power (Ballinasloe RFC)

16. Ciara Corrigan (Creggs RFC)
17. Amy Horan (Ballinrobe RFC)
18. Lauren Hunter (Sligo RFC)
19. Chloe Conneely (Connemara RFC)
20. Ruby Comer (Corinthians RFC)
21. Jemma Lees (Galwegians RFC)
22. Aisling Whyte (Corinthians RFC)
23. Meabh Flannery (Corinthians RFC)

Head Coach: Craig Hansberry
Backs Coach: Luke O'Donnell
Forwards Coach: Simon Lawless
Skills Coach: Simon O'Malley
Team Manager: Natalie Fox


U18 Interprovincial Series, game 3

Connacht v Leinster

Saturday, 2nd September

Corinthians RFC, 2:00 PM K/o


As always, all support is greatly appreciated.