Wonder Tries Seal Cup For Wegians

23 April 2017

Wonder Tries Seal Cup For Wegians
Tyrone Ezeogu on his way to a superb try for Galwegians.

Connacht U16 Cup Final

Corinthians 11-20 Galwegians

Stunning tries in the final quarter for Jack Power and Tyrone Ezeogu helped Galwegians edge out Corinthians in a hard-fought Connacht U16 Cup final at the Sportsground on Sunday.

With the teams tied at three apiece, the game burst into life on the hour as Power’s scintillating break from deep inside his own half ended under the posts as he left a nuber of defenders trailing in his wake after showing great footwork and then pace.

The win was secured thanks to a searing break down the left flank by winger Ezeogu as Galwegians took their opportunities to snatch a game that was in the balance for the opening hour.

Diarmuid Kilcommins crossed in the right corner for Corinthians in the final play as they scored the five-pointer their efforts deserved but it was too little, too late.

A Kilcommins penalty after good early play gave Corinthians a 3-0 lead after seven minutes with Daniel Reddan replying for Wegians three minutes later to even the score.

With full-back Conor O’Shaughnessy impressing for Galwegians, there was very little to choose between the teams for the remainder of the half with Wegians held up over the line as neither side could add to tally.

A second Kilcommins penalty shortly after the break moved Corinthians back in front and they spent the majority of the half in the Galwegians half without ever rally looking like breaching the opposition’s defence.

Then Power pounced with a bolt from the blue from deep inside his own half to touch down under the posts with Shane O’Donnell converting before a Reddan penalty made it 13-6 with 10 minutes to play.

Ezeogu touched down with a marvellous individual effort of his own to seal the deal despite Kilcommins’ late five-pointer.

Corinthians: David McCarthy; Niall Fitzgerald, Diarmuid Kilcommins, Darragh Hanrahan, Ian Kennedy; Ciaran Dillon, Aaron Browne; Cian Scanlon, Eoin de Buitlear (C), Colm McDonagh; Domhnall O'Braonain, Hubert Costello; Ethan Connolly, Diarmuid McCormack, Conal O'Griofa.

Replacements: Colin O'Shea, Peter Coyne, Killian Lalor, Killian Goaley, Peadar McTavish, Aiden O'Loughlin, Aron Connaire, Cathal Forde, James Phillips, Joey Walsh.

Galwegians: Conor O'Shaughnessy; Tyrone Ezeogu, Jack Power, Shane O'Donnell, Rory Elwood; Daniel Reddan, Luke Valentine; Shane Connolly, Tomás Gillanders, Daragh Fox; Cosmin Andrian, Conor Barrett Shields; Niall Hanahoe, Evan O'Boyle, Shane Cotter.

Replacements: Lucas Joyce, Jack Doyle Taylor, William Walsh, James Reynolds, Evan Regan, Art Keane, Patrick McDonnell, Ewomazino Johnny.