World class score in seven try heaven

27 August 2022

World class score in seven try heaven
A brilliant team performance which saw Connacht score seven tries, the pick of the bunch coming from Éabha Nic Dhonnacha.

It was Munster who opened the scoring with an early try inside five minutes, but Connacht responded quick with a try of their own, Sarah McCormick crossing over the line to make it 7-5.

Prop Roisin Maher played a big part in the led up to the try, breaking tackle after tackle creating the space for her teammates to create the scoring opportunity.

Munster extended their lead to seven points with 15 minutes on the clock. A well worked try which saw a cross-field kick find its intended target.

The big turning point in this match saw Munster go down to 14 players for ten minutes. Connacht were awarded a penalty five metres out, quick thinking from Ellen O’Toole with a tap and go saw Connacht score their second try of the game.

Hannah Clarke kept the tries coming. Fly-half Clara Barrett with a lovely pass out to the full-back from Tuam/Oughterard who had a field of green ahead of her and gave Connacht the lead for the first time in the match.

The girls in green were in control and soon, Éabha Nic Dhonnacha produced what can only be described as a world class try. She received the ball 50 metres away from the try line, with a lot of work to do, the Corinthians star went on a solo run, first a dummy pass before showing incredible pace to run down the wing leaving everyone in her shadow before touching down. The half ended with Connacht leading 22-12.

Connacht began the second half with real intent and showed no signs of slowing up. Four tries in the half, Mila Sotoparra with the first followed by her Ballina teammate Clara Barrett pushed Connacht’s lead to 22 points.

Munster got their only try of the second half near the end of the match, but it was Éabha Nic Dhonnacha who got her second try that saw the match end 39-17.

Connacht Squad:

  1. Ella Burns (Tuam/Oughterard, Dunmore Community School)

  2. Ellen O’Toole (Westport RFC, Sancta Maria College)

  3. Roisin Maher (Creggs RFC, Convent of Mercy)

  4. Grainne Hahessy (Claremorris Colts, Mount Saint Micheal)

  5. Sarah Mc Cormick (Ballina RFC, Gortnor Abbey)

  6. Ailish Quinn (Ballina RFC, St Mary’s Secondary School)

  7. Beibhinn Gleeson (Tuam/Oughterard, Scoil Bhríde, Mercy Secondary School)

  8. Karly Tierney (Tuam/Oughterard, Salerno Secondary School)

  9. Grainne Moran (Ballina RFC, Gortnor Abbey)

  10.   Clara Barrett (Ballina RFC, St Brendan’s Collage)

  11.   Emily Foley (Ballina RFC, Jesus and Mary Secondary School)

  12.   Éabha Nic Dhonnacha (Corinthians RFC, Scoil Chumsitheach Chiaráin)

  13.   Molly Boote (Connemara RFC, Clifden Community College)

  14.   Evanna Finn (Corinthians RFC, Yeats College)

  15.   Hannah Clarke (Tuam/Oughterard, St Pauls)

  16.   Ella Greene (Ballinasloe RFC, Ardscoil Mhuire)

  17.   Niamh Corless (Claremorris Colts, Mount Saint Micheal)

  18.   Jemima Adams Verling (Creggs RFC, Colaiste Mhuire)

  19.   Rhona O’Dea (Claremorris Colts, Mount Saint Micheal)

  20.   Laura Hastings (Tuam/Oughterard, Presentation College)

  21.   Abbie Murray (Buccaneers, Colaiste Chiarain)

  22.   Mila Sotoparra (Ballina RFC St Josephs)

  23.   Sarah Purcel (Creggs RFC, Colaiste Mhuire)