NUIG RFC U14 Connacht B-League Winners 2014:

Back row (L-R): Miles Kennedy (Coach), Daragh Leneghan, Lorcan Mulkerrins, Eanna Mac Gearlitt, Joe Kennedy, Jack Sullivan, Eoin Cahill, Norman Price, Brian O’Sullivan, Cian McHale, Connor Cillian, Dara Golden, Cian McCann, David Burke, Eoin Durkin (Coach)

Front row (L-R): Kevin Greaney, Jack Davoran, Stephen Kerr, Eoin O’Gorman, Joe Downes, Hugh Devery (Captain), Dillon Murray, Cian Gilroy, Ruane
Durkin, Matthew Collins.

Anyone familiar with the Disney movie “The Mighty Ducks” will know the classic underdog story, a mixed group of young kids go from zero to hero in a single season completely turning their fortunes around by winning their local league. But that’s Disney, those things don’t happen in real life, right?

The NUI Galway Youth Academy Rugby club has only been in existence for three years. Last year’s under 13 group went through the league season
without a single competitive win. They had some success at the very end of the year by winning an invitational plate at Corinthians RFC. This year the same group have managed to go through their second league season (at U14) unbeaten! On Wednesday the 23rd of April in Ballyhaunis they completed he season by defeating a very tough and game Tuam side 34-13 to win the Connacht B-league final. 3 tries by Matthew Collins, 2 by Brian O’Sullivan and an outstanding dot down from a cross field kick by David Burke along with one conversion each from Eoin O’Gorman and Cian Gilroy secured the win against Tuam’s two tries and one penalty. Congratulations to all on an incredible turn around.

Photo courtesy of Jim Leneghan


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner