Connacht’s home record came to a halt today when Ulster snatched a win at the Sportsground through a 76th minute try. Number 8 Nick Williams got over for the decisive score at the death up until which the sides were level through a penalty kicked either side of the break.

Pat Lam’s men will be hugely disappointing having dominated possession and territory but ultimately missed out on scoring opportunities in the visitors’ 22 twice in the opening ten minutes.

Inside centre Craig Ronaldson missed two shots at goal 10 minutes either side of each half and it was replacement outhalf AJ MacGinty who kicked the points for Connacht with a penalty after 64 minutes to bring the sides level.

Paddy Jackson added to his first half penalty, when he converted Williams’ late try and the visitors held out for the win in Galway.

A losing bonus point will be some consolation to Lam and his team who remain in second place before a trip to play Leinster in the RDS in six days’ time.

Half time: Connacht 0 – 3 Ulster

Full time: Connacht 10 – 3 Ulster

Attendance: 5, 876

Referee: Peter Fitzgibbon

Connacht: Tiernan O’Halloran; Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Craig Ronaldson (Rory Parata ’78), Matt Healy; Jack Carty (AJ MacGinty ’57), Kieran Marmion (Ian Porter ’78); Finlay Bealham (Ronan Loughney ’61), Dave Heffernan (Shane Delahunt ’55), Nathan White (Rodney Ah You ’69); Ultan Dillane, Aly Muldowney (Andrew Browne ’57); John Muldoon (capt), James Connolly, Eoghan Masterson (Sean O’Brien ’55).

Ulster: Louis Ludik; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Rory Scholes; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar (Paul Marshall ’69); Andrew Warwick (Callum Black ’44), Rob Herring (capt), Wiehahn Herbst (Ricky Lutton ’51); Alan O’Connor (Stephen Mulholland ’71), Franco van der Merwe; Robbie Diack, Sean Reidy (Roger Wilson ’55), Nick Williams.


Bealham, Hansen and Aki named in Ireland squad to face Wales