Debutante Victory for Rugby Rookies

CBS Roscommon paid little heed to the establishment on Thursday grinding out a 12nil win over Tuam’s St Jarlath’s on Creggs Green.
The Junior Development Cup fixture, sweet enough as CBS’ first win was all the more extraordinary given it was the college’s first rugby outing in Connacht competitions.

CBSnov25_450x269While very much in its infancy, CBS Ros-
common’s rugby pedigree makes for
impressive reading.
Its perfect record is enviable to say the
least, the Under16 win comes on the back
of an Under14 League victory earlier in the
week – St Jarlath’s again the victim. 
Local rugby enthusiasts Vincent Collins (Service Matters), Aidan Farrell (MJ Farrell Jewellers) and Aengus Oates (ERA Oates) marked the inauguration with sponsored kit presentations, Farrell said those wearing them had almost repaid the investment already in pride courtesy of the two performances.
Under16 captain Dylan Keavney led a forward-oriented campaign throughout in heavy conditions. Confusion reigned prematch as conditions conspired against both sides, but to each’s credit both St Jarlath’s and CBS fronted up in fine form despite difficult conditions. Much of the first quarter saw CBS camp in the opposition half, Tom Oates, Mark Kearney, Eoghan Farrell and Ross Mugan formidable at set-piece time. Keavney, Barry McDonnell, Matthew Brandon and Rory Collins made life as difficult as possible for the visitors in open play, and “little general” Brian Cleary ably bossed his bulkier charges about the paddock.
Evan Concur came within feet of the line near the close of the first half, latching on to the end of some slick backline interplay, but the ensuing ruck availed front-foot ball for Farrell to scramble over and post the first points.
CBS maintained territorial control on the game, St Jarlath’s unable to alleviate mounting pressure and five minutes short of the break Noel Gately charged down a desperate clearance and forced the ball for the second score. He added his own extras for a 12-0 halftime lead.

Into the wind for the second spell, St Jarlath’s were unable to convert a tailwind into points, and CBS managed a solitary foray into the opposition redzone but were denied a further score by an earlier handling error. While the final 40minutes was a dour affair by-and-large, an enterprising opening 40 proved crucial to the outcome, CBS Roscommon 12, St Jarlath’s nil. CBS advance to the quarterfinal and meet either HRC Mountbellew or St Muiredach’s.

CBS Roscommon: Eoghan Farrell, Mark Kearney, Barry McDonnell, Rory Collins, Dylan Keavney (C), Matthew Brandon, Noel Gately, Evan Concur, Brian Cleary, Ryan Horan, Tom Oates, Diarmuid Cunniffe, Darren Campbell, Mark Naughton, Rory O Brochalain, John Brennan, David Murray, Jack Caltagirone, Michael Mongan, Aaron Moran, Brian Collins, Matthew Butt, Ross Mugan, Dean Hollian, James Regan, Raymond Farrell.
(Dave Purcell – contributor)


Now accepting entries for the Girls & Boys schools leagues