2014 will see the Senior Cup’s 88th running 101 years after it’s inception, where Garbally College started it’s domination, winning the first four competitions.

Marist College Athlone are the current holders having successfully defended their crown in 2013. With their Connacht schools representatives Conal O’Brien and Charlie McMicken; they will look for a threepeat in 2014, but will have to get past Sligo Grammar, who have featured in five finals in both Junior and Senior cups in the last four years. Sligo will be bolstered by Irish schools representative and Connacht schools captain Mathew Cosgrove at no.8, joined in the back row by another Connacht schools player Joe Conway at openside. Sligo’s remaining Connacht players – winger Ryan Feehily and hooker Joe Bennett give them quality throughout their side and will be a force to be reckoned with. St. Joseph’s (The Bish) have a young squad who have remained unbeaten in the Connacht schools U18 league.

In Pool A, last year’s beaten finalists Garbally College have the highest number of Connacht schools representatives with seven, and two who played for Ireland representative sides; Peter Claffey for the schools, and Conor Kenny for Ireland club side. They are joined by outhalf Simon Keller, full back Sean Horan, hooker Niall Higgins, second row Sam Holland and backrow Dylan Connolly. With a spine of quality running down their team like that, a lot of people will be fancying Garbally College to return to their former glory days having not won the competition since 2007. They face Rice College, with Tom McHale their sole Connacht representative in their squad, fromWestport who were beaten finalist in the Junior Development Cup three years ago, the always powerful Colaiste Iognaid, and Summerhill from Sligo who can boast winger Jack Keegan, scrumhalf Stephen Kerins, prop Conan O’Donnell and utility back Daragh Cummins in their squad who represented Connacht schools earlier this season. Conan O’Donnell was another who featured for Ireland schools in their recent loss to an Australian schools touring side.

Pool A:


Week 1: 

Garbally College 24-8 Colaiste Iognaid 

Rice College 8-10 Summerhill

Week 2: 23/01/2014 

12pm: Rice College v Garbally College

1.30 pm: Summerhill v Colaiste Iognaid

Week 3: 30/01/2014 12pm:

Colaiste Iognaid v Rice College

Summerhill v Garbally College



Summerhill College, Sligo

Rice College, Westport, Co. Mayo

Colaise Iognaid, Galway – Jes

Garbally College, Galway

Pool B:


Week 1: 

Awarded to Marist: Marist College v Clifden CS 

POSTPONED: The Bish v Sligo Grammar 

Week 2: 

22/01/2014 1pm: Marist College v The Bish

Week 3: 

30/01/2014 1pm: Sligo Grammar v Marist College



Sligo Grammar, Sligo

St. Joseph’s Galway – The Bish

Marist College, Athlone



The Jes reach last four with last minute winner