Photo courtesy INPHO/Mike Shaughnessy

Sligo Grammar School 26
Colaiste Iognaid 11
Sligo Grammar School captured the Connacht Tribune Senior Schools Cup when they defeated holders Colaiste Iognaid in the final at the Sportsground on Wednesday.
The champions led 11-8 at the interval after an early try from Peter Laffey for Sligo was cancelled by one from Conor Murphy for Colaiste Iognaid.
Robert Butler kicked two penalties for the holders as Pat Hughes landed one for Sligo.
Scott Oates got Sligo’s second try shortly after the restart and they secured the title when Hughes landed a late drop goal before David Butler broke for a try in the dying moments.

Sligo Grammar School:
Tries: Laffey, Oates, D Butler
Con: Hughes
Pens: Hughes (2)
Drop goal: Hughes

Colaiste Iognaid:
Try: Murphy
Pens: Butler (2)

Sligo Grammar School: S Oates; S Creamer, D Butler, S Butler, P Laffey; P Hughes, O van der Grijn; T Ferrari, G McConnell, J Gill; J Clarke, E O’Donnell; A Spring, T Callaghan, D Qualter.
Replacements: J Healy for Creamer, 46 mins;
Colaiste Iognaid: N Murphy; J Dooley, F Bourne, B Dixon, C Divilly; R Butler, D O’Meara; B Madden, R Murray, C Qualter; J Healy, J O’Donnell; C Murphy, A Conneely, R Cunningham.

Referee: D Connolly (CBIRFU).



Gallery: HT minis – Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Corinthians and Dunmore