Sligo RFC Connacht Womens League winners

Sligo took on NUIG in the finals of the Connacht League on March 23rd in Tuam RFC. Sligo, who beat NUIG twice in the league this year, were met with a NUIG side who were well up for the match, and were not going to let the past losses to Sligo get in the way of competing for that trophy. Both teams played very well on the night, with Sligo coming away with the 24-10 win. Jean Wynne, Connacht Women’s Committee Chair person, was on hand to present Sligo’s captain, Laura Feeley, with the trophy she had won while coaching her own club (Tuam) last year.
Wendy Hickey, WCRO for Connacht, was delighted for Sligo. “This is the 3rd year of the Connacht League, and I am delighted to see Sligo RFC back playing women’s rugby in Connacht after many years of absence, and I would also like to thank Gavin Foley and Sligo RFC for their committment in growing the game in their club. I would also like to thank Paul Cosgrove and Tuam RFC for hosting the finals again this year and as always, being very supportive of the women’s game.”


Connacht Emerging Talent squad named for game against Leinster North Midlands