Corinthians hosted the third Girls Mini Blitz last weekend, with eight clubs represented on the day.
Players from Galwegians, Loughrea, Tuam, Oughterard, Portumna, Sligo, Claremorris, Corinthians and Gort came together and played some great rugby.
Wendy Hickey, Connacht Women’s Development Officer, was delighted with day. “Girls Only sections are the only way to increase participation at mini level as players really enjoy playing against other girls! A huge thank you to Jonathan Kay and Corinthians RFC for coordinating the day, to all the coaches, players, referees and parents for all their support, and to John Howard from Gort RFC for all the great pics!”
The next blitz is on Dec. 8th in Galwegians RFC, kick off 10:30. Any queries, please contact [email protected]
See below for some of the best pics from Corinthians at the weekend.

The Connacht Women’s management team have named their team for Saturday’s opening inter-provincial series tie against Munster.

The side will be captained by Grainne Egan who’s joined in the back row by Edel McMahon and Nichola Fryday. Vice-captain Laura Feely starts in the front row alongside Ciara O’Connor and Annmarie O’Hora, and the pack is completed by Nicola Caldbeck and Amelie Roux in the second row.

The half-back partnership sees scrum-half Mary Healy play alongside fly-half Nicole Fowley, with Shannon Touhy and Catherine Martin named as centres. The back three sees wingers Orla Dixon and Rachel Healy alongside full-back Jill Draper

Kick-off at Irish Independent Park, Cork is at 2.30pm on Saturday, the squad’s only one home game of the series with ties against Leinster (Sunday 9th September) and Ulster (Saturday 15th September) to follow at The Sportsground.

1. Laura Feely (vice captain) – Galwegians
2. Ciara O’Connor – Galwegians
3. Annmarie O’Hora – Castlebar / Galwegians
4. Nicola Caldbeck – Tullow
5. Amelie Roux – Galwegians
6. Edel McMahon – Galwegians
7. Grainne Egan (captain) – Railway Union
8. Nichola Fryday – Galwegians
9. Mary Healy – Galwegians
10. Nicole Fowley – Galwegians
11. Orla Dixon – NUIG
12. Shannon Touhy – Galwegians
13. Catherine Martin – Suttonians
14. Rachel Healy – Railway Union
15. Jill Draper – Tullamore

16. Moya Griffin – Tullamore
17. Elizabeth McNicholas – Tuam
18. Julia Bauer – Suttonians
19. Denise Redmond – Galwegians
20. Tara Buggie – NUIG
21. Shannen Lane – Galwegians
22. Hilary Griffin – Tullow
23. Mairead Coyne – Galwegians

Extended Squad

Aifric O’Brien – Suttonians
Clodagh Dunne – Old Belvedere
Ellen Taite – Mullingar
Jane O’Neill – Old Belvedere
Lauren Retig – Suttonians
Racheal O’Brien – UL Bohemians
Sarah Jane Fox – Galwegians
Tracey Foley
Ursuala Sammon – Castlebar / Galwegians

Management Team
Jarleth Naughton (Head Coach
Jason East (Forwards Coach)
Brian Murphy (Backs Coach)
Dan McCabe (Physio)
Mark Moran (Manager)


Clubforce to host webinar on ‘Fundraising in a Virtual World’

Huge response to Summer SkillZone series with totalhealth Pharmacy

Huge response to Summer SkillZone series with totalhealth Pharmacy

3 months ago
IRFU Add ‘Competition Stage’ To Roadmap For Clubs With September Return Planned

IRFU Add ‘Competition Stage’ To Roadmap For Clubs With September Return Planned

5 months ago
IRFU publishes return to rugby summary roadmap

IRFU publishes return to rugby summary roadmap

5 months ago