Academy Forward and Connacht U20 Player of the Year Sean O’Brien has been named captain of the Ireland U20 squad for this year’s IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand in June.

Connacht U19 Player of the Year Rory Moloney and Ciaran Gaffney have also been named in the squad.

Eight players who were not involved in the RBS 6 Nations U20 Championship have been added to the squad. Diarmaid Dee, Dylan Donnellan, John Madigan, Darragh Moloney and Craig Trenier are named with the forwards, while William Dardis, Ryan Foley, Ciaran Gaffney join the backs.

Four of the squad featured in the 2013 Junior World Championship, Peter Dooley, Jack O’Donoghue, Peadar Timmins and Alex Wootton.

Ireland share pool B with France, Fiji and Wales and open their tournament against France on Monday, 2nd June in QBE Stadium, Auckland.

Ireland U-20 Squad (IRB Junior Rugby World Championship Squad 2014)
Max Abbott (Cork Constitution – Munster)
Rory Burke (Cork Constitution – Munster)
David Busby (Queens – Ulster)
Ross Byrne (UCD – Leinster)
Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/ Carlow IT – Leinster)
William Dardis (UCD – Leinster)*
Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster – Munster)*
Dylan Donnellan (UCD – Leinster)*
Peter Dooley (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians – Connacht)*
Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Dan Goggin (Young Munster – Munster)
Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne – Leinster)
John Madigan (Dolphin – Munster)*
Nick McCarthy (UCD – Leinster)
Mickey McKeon (Lansdowne – Leinster)
Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
Rory Moloney (Buccaneers – Connacht)
Ross Molony (UCD – Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (Galwegians – Connacht) (Capt)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemian – Munster)
Garry Ringrose (UCD – Leinster)
Peter Robb (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
Peadar Timmins (UCD – Leinster)
Craig Trenier (Terenure – Leinster)*
Alex Wootton (Garryowen – Munster)

*Denotes uncapped player at International Under-20 level.   

Pool B Fixtures – Junior World Championship 2013(All times are local) –
02 Jun, 15:35 Wales v Fiji ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe
02 Jun, 17:35 France v Ireland QBE Stadium, Auckland
06 Jun, 15:35 France v Fiji ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe
06 Jun, 17:35 Wales v Ireland ECOLight Stadium, Pukekohe
10 Jun, 13:35 Ireland v Fiji QBE Stadium, Auckland

10 Jun, 15:35 Wales v France QBE Stadium, Auckland




Carty makes history as Connacht tame Lions