Ireland U20 Head Coach Nigel Carolan has named the side to face Wales in Ireland’s opening game of the World Rugby U20 Championship at the Manchester City Academy Stadium.

Captained by Lansdowne and Leinster second-row James Ryan, the side contains four players who are uncapped at U20 level.

Leinster and St. Mary’s back-row David Aspil and Munster and Garryowen out-half Bill Johnston will win their first U20 caps when they run out in Manchester, while forwards Vincent O’Brien and Vakh Abdaladaze will be looking to win their first caps from the bench.

Under-20 Six Nations Championship Round 5, Donnybrook, Dublin 18/3/2016 Ireland U20s vs Scotland U20 Ireland's Cillian Gallagher with Tom Galbraith and Rory Hutchinson of Scotland Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Gary Carr

Ireland’s Cillian Gallagher in action v Scotland

Front-rowers Andrew Porter and Adam McBurney will be appearing in their second U20 Championships, having played in Italy last year. Buccaneers and Connacht tight-head prop Conor Kenny completes the front-row.

Captain Ryan is partnered in the second-row by Sligo and Connacht’s Cillian Gallagher, who moves into the number 4 jersey having played at flanker during the Six Nations.

The back-row is comprised of new-comer Aspil, Lansdowne number 8 Max Deegan and UCD flanker Greg Jones.

Sligo scrum-half Stephen Kerins partners Johnston at half-back, with Conor O’Brien and Shane Daly renewing their centre partnership from the Six Nations.

The back three is comprised of Belfast Harlequins and Ulster full-back Jacob Stockdale, who is the third member of the squad appearing at his second U20 Championship and wings Matthew Byrne of Terenure RFC and UCD’s Hugo Keenan.

REPRO FREE***PRESS RELEASE NO REPRODUCTION FEE*** Ireland Under 20 World Rugby Championship Squad Announcement, PWC Offices, Spencer Dock, Dublin 23/5/2016 PwC announces renewal of its sponsorship with the IRFU for another four years PwC is delighted to announce that, following 10 years of support, PwC will renew its sponsorship of the IRFU for another four years.  As part of the partnership, PwC continues to be the official sponsor of the Ireland U20, Ireland U19 and Ireland U18 sides.    The sponsorship will also involve PwC supporting the IRFU Elite Player Pathway Programme which identifies and supports the development of rugby talent right across the country.  The programme puts support services in place to enhance and fast-track player development to ensure that these young athletes are ready to compete at representative level and in the professional game as well as in business life. Pictured today Ireland Under 20 head coach Nigel Carolan Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Ireland Under 20 Coach Nigel Carloan

Speaking ahead of the fixture, Carolan said;

“The game against Wales is a hugely important test for this team and we’ve been building towards it since we came together as a squad a number of weeks ago. Wales are the Grand Slam champions so it’s going to be a challenging game, but one the players are looking forward to.
There’s a good mix to the team that’s been selected – the likes of Andrew, Adam and Jacob were here last year and can bring that experience into the squad, while there will also be some players winning new caps and we’re looking forward to seeing what they can do in the green jersey.”

The game, which will be live on TG4 and Sky Sports 1, kicks off at 5.30pm and will be refereed by New Zealander Paul Williams.

Ireland U20 v Wales U20.
Manchester City Academy Stadium, Tuesday 7th June, 5.30pm.

15. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)
14. Matthew Byrne (Terenure / Leinster)
13. Shane Daly (Cork Con / Munster)
12. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf / Leinster)
11. Hugo Keenan (UCD / Leinster)
10. Bill Johnston (Garryowen / Munster)*
9. Stephen Kerins (Sligo / Connacht)
1. Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster)
2. Adam McBurney (Ballymena / Ulster)
3. Conor Kenny (Buccaneers / Connacht)
4. Cillian Gallagher (Sligo / Connacht)
5. James Ryan (Lansdowne / Leinster) Captain
6. Greg Jones (UCD / Leinster)
7. David Aspil (St.Mary’s RFC / Leinster)*
8. Max Deegan (Lansdowne / Leinster)

16. Vincent O’Brien (Cork Con / Munster)*
17. Vakh Abdaladze (Clontarf / Leinster)*
18. Ben Betts (Young Munster / Munster)
19. Sean O’Connor (Cashel / Munster)
20. Kelvin Brown (Shannon / Munster)
21. Niall Saunders (Epsom College)
22. Johnny McPhillips (Queens University / Ulster)
23. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD / Leinster)

*Denotes Uncapped at this level

Ireland U20 World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures
Pool A
Wales v Ireland
Manchester City Academy Stadium
Tuesday 7th June, 2016
KO: 17:30

New Zealand v Ireland
Manchester City Academy Stadium
Saturday 11th June, 2016
KO: 13:30

Ireland v Georgia
Manchester City Academy Stadium
Wednesday 15th June, 2016
KO: 17:30

Manchester City Academy Stadium OR AJ Bell Stadium, Salford
Monday 20th June 2016

Manchester City Academy Stadium OR AJ Bell Stadium, Salford
Saturday 25th June 2016


Jordan Conroy named in Ireland Men’s 7s squad for Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series