The Top Oil Connacht Schools Cup draw will take place on Friday 11th December in the Connacht Hotel preceding the Connacht V Newcastle game.
A record number of schools will enter this year’s competitions, 38 compared to 37 last year. 58 teams will also take to the field in 5 Top Oil competitions; Senior Cup, Senior Development Cup, Junior Cup & Junior Emerging Cup.
The Top Oil Connacht Senior Cup is the oldest and most prestigious schools competition in the province, celebrating its centenary back in 2013. The Senior Cup will feature 10 teams this season with Garbally College hoping to defend the trophy they won in dramatic circumstances against last year’s surprise package Summerhill College. They will be strongly challenged by the likes of Marist College & Sligo GrammArticle 4 - Garbally lift the Senio Schools Cup 2014-15ar. It will be interesting to see how St Muredeachs College fair after their impressive showing in the league.
The Top Oil Connacht Junior Cup is a competition which also has a prestigious history and dates back to the early 1900’s will be contested by 10 teams this year. CBS Roscommon are the current champions and will be challenged strongly by traditional powerhouses, Marist College, Garbally College & Sligo Grammar School.
The Top Oil Senior Development Cup was won by the Bish last year who have graduated to the next level. This year’s league finalists, Scoil Chuimsitheacht Chiarain will be favoured but will face stiff competition from HRC Mountbellew and Pres Headford. 13 teams have entered this year’s competition which will hopefully make for an exciting campaign.
The Top Oil Junior Development Cup will include 18 teams this season and shows the marked growth in schools rugby across the province. Last year’s champions Calasanctius may have a say again, however League Champions & last year’s beaten finalist Presentation Headford must be favoured at this point. Also keep an eye out for Gallen CS and Scoil Mhuire, Ballymote.
The Top Oil Emerging Cup will feature for the second year running with 7 teams taking part. This competition is designed to give very new schools a chance to compete at schools level. Last year’s finalists St Tiernan’s from Crossmollina will likely feature again.


The Jes reach last four with last minute winner