Later this evening, a 24-man Connacht Rugby squad will depart from Shannon airport for the nearly 6, 000 km trip to Krasnoyarsk, Russia. The two-flight, 9-hour journey will see the squad arrive in the Siberian city (7 hours ahead of GMT) at 11am on Wednesday where they will prepare for the Saturday afternoon fixture against Russian side Enisei-STM in round 1 of the European Rugby Challenge Cup.

The uncapped duo of Peter Robb and Sean O’Brien are included in the traveling squad and join their Academy colleagues James Connolly, Shane Delahunt, Conan O’Donnell and Rory Parata for the trp.

Experienced returnees Jason Harris-Wright and Ronan Loughney are named to travel having both played in the Eagles win over Leinster ‘A’ last week.

The starting XV and replacements for Saturday’s game will be announced on Friday at 12 noon Irish time.

Traveling Squad

Backs (10)

Darragh Leader, Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Rory Parata, Craig Ronaldson, Jack Carty, AJ MacGinty, Ian Porter, Caolin Blade

Forwards (14)

Jason Harris-Wright, Dave Heffernan,   Shane Delahunt, Conan O’Donnell, Ronan Loughney, Denis Buckley, Finlay Bealham, Aly Muldowney, Danny Qualter, Ultan Dillane, James Connolly, Sean O’Brien, George Naoupu, John Muldoon.

Unavailable from Challenge Cup Squad:  Rodney Ah You, Fionn Carr, John Cooney, Matt Healy, Robbie Henshaw, Kieran Marmion, Ben Marshall, Tom McCartney, Dave McSharry, Tiernan O’Halloran, Danie Poolman, Quinn Roux, Nathan White.



Eoin De Buitléar signs first Professional contract with Connacht Rugby